Skip to content
Heavy Metal Index

Heavy Metals Concentration in Facial Cosmetics

Overview

This open-access Natural Products Chemistry & Research study quantifies 27 elements by inductively coupled plasma mass spectrometry (Perkin-Elmer Sciex ELAN 6100 ICP-MS) plus a separate Hg-only measurement by flow injection mercury system (Perkin Elmer FIMS-400) in 30 facial-cosmetic samples covering four product types — Base jelly, Whitener, Sheen, and Face powder — drawn from nine “most expensive” brands purchased on the Riyadh, Saudi Arabia retail market. Samples were acid-digested (HNO₃/HF/HCl, 4.5:2:0.5) in a microwave system (Milestone ETHOS 1600) following a four-step heating program; analytical accuracy was verified against IAEA-SOIL-7 certified reference material with most elements falling within the certified 95% confidence range. Concentrations are reported in ppb (µg/kg) of the as-sold finished cosmetic, separately by product type, with mean, minimum-with-RSD, and maximum-with-RSD across the brand panel for each element. The authors do not report per-brand or per-sample tabulations beyond an anonymized sample code (e.g., C1, C46, C71). Headline panel-level findings (the source’s own summary, p. 8): Face powder carries the highest mean concentration for sixteen elements (B, Mg, Al, K, V, Mn, Co, Zn, As, Se, Rb, Mo, Ag, Cd, Pb, U); Whitener carries the lowest mean for fifteen elements (Li, B, Al, V, Cr, Mn, Fe, Co, Zn, Sr, Ag, Ba, Pb, Sn, Hg); Base jelly carries the highest mean for six elements (Na, Cr, Fe, Ni, Sb, Sn); Sheen carries the highest mean for six elements (Li, Ca, Cu, Sr, Ba, Hg). Evidence tier is B: peer-reviewed open-access journal (CC BY), IAEA-SOIL-7 SRM-validated ICP-MS, but n=4-9 per product type (no within-brand replication structure reported), no LOD/LOQ table, no procedural-blank values, no per-sample (per-brand) tabulation that would allow re-aggregation, and per-element RSD values reported for some sample-pairs but not all.

Key numbers

Twenty-seven elements quantified by ICP-MS plus Hg by FIMS in 30 facial-cosmetic samples (9 Base jelly + 4 Whitener + 9 Sheen + 8 Face powder), reported as panel-level mean, min, and max in ppb (µg/kg) of as-sold cosmetic. The source’s tables also report per-cell RSD% (where measured) and the anonymized sample code(s) at which the min and max were observed; the sample codes are reproduced here for traceability but are not brand identifiers.

SRM recovery (Table 2 of source, p. 3; IAEA-SOIL-7)

The IAEA-SOIL-7 certified reference material was digested and measured alongside the samples. Most elements fall within the IAEA 95% confidence interval; departures from the certified range are noted below.

ElementIAEA certified range (ppm)This study (ppm)RSD%Within certified range?
Li15-4239.13.07yes
B(not certified)28.35.4n/a
Na2300-250020900.96below (~9% low)
Mg11000-11800112001.05yes
Al44000-51000479000.287yes
K11300-12700115000.878yes
Ca157000-1740001550001.09below (~1% low)
V59-7373.70.982above (just above ceiling)
Cr49-7462.83.33yes
Mn(not certified)6481.13n/a
Fe25200-26300251000.623below (~0.4% low)
Co8.4-10.112.44.32above (~23% high)
Ni21-3717.22.22below (~18% low)
Cu9.0-1311.21.16yes
Zn101-1131150.0825above (~2% high)
As12.5-14.2142.23yes
Se0.2-0.81.334.6above (~63% high; RSD 35%)
Rb47-5650.20.327yes
Sr103-1141021.35below (~1% low)
Mo0.9-5.11.033.47yes
Ag(not certified)0.4843.3n/a
Cd1.1-2.71.130.726yes
Ba131-1961311.36yes (lower edge)
Pb55-7161.70.262yes
U2.2-3.32.070.544below (~6% low)
Sb1.4-1.81.571.91yes
Sn(not certified)2.842.79n/a

Sn, Ag, B, and Mn lack certified IAEA-SOIL-7 reference values; the source’s reported “actual work” values for those elements have no formal accuracy benchmark. Co, V, Zn, and Se sit measurably outside the IAEA certified range; Se in particular runs at ~63% above the certified upper bound with 34.6% RSD, suggesting Se quantitation in this dataset should be treated with caution. The remaining 19 elements with IAEA certified values fall inside or within ~1% of the certified range.

Base jelly (9 samples, Table 5 of source, p. 4-5; ppb = µg/kg)

ElementMean (n=9)MinMin RSD%Min sampleMaxMax RSD%Max sample
Li14875.529.2—C46399000.57C55
B11080.0BDL—C37, C46, C55, C63, C711760012.9C26
Na2941444.43530001.59C37130000000.79C1
Mg2029900.0351002.45C4699700000.61C9
Al3661444.43330001.06C71102000000.61C9
K987422.2578003.37C146500000.69C9
Ca133399.6BDL—C17, C37, C46, C554340002.29C26
V694.41981.97C2615900.83C9
Cr3853.311504.85C17128001.89C71
Mn9200.036101.3C37138000.81C26
Fe8464444.413000001.54C63173000000.32C1
Co932.82042.14C6320702.41C71
Ni7539.4BDL—C9, C55261000.98C71
Cu21368.980202.06C9347000.55C46
Zn58855.6219002.72C91010000.36C46
tAs387.182.1—C7112401.78C26
Se225.237.2—C2658216C46
Rb6241.988.17.63C46358001.47C9
Sr4351.42626.01C46134000.26C37
Mo310.690.12.25C266623.6C71
Ag141.313.1—C374992.69C71
Cd12.01.99—C7138.210.2C46
Ba101979.69661.67C18840000.47C9
Pb2024.91571.11C26122000.83C71
U240.526.14.53C115101.8C71
Sb1023.752.610.5C935600.87C1
Sn60700.0126000.81C173940000.3C46
tHg0.9BDL—C17, C3716.455.03C55

BDL = below detection limit. The source does not report a numeric LOD/LOQ.

Whitener (4 samples, Table 6 of source, p. 5-6; ppb)

ElementMean (n=4)MinMin RSD%Min sampleMaxMax RSD%Max sample
Li14491.967.4—C36290001.43C45
B—BDL—C36, C45, C5395500000.68C25
Na2405500.03520001.14C5361500000.34C45
Mg934325.0463003.67C3632000001.54C45
Al3196325.0753001.22C3680100000.44C25
K1260250.01380000.88C3642600000.95C25
Ca233650.0BDL—C36, C534540002.99C25
V576.487.44.90C3615401.56C25
Cr1670.010406.08C3622900.51C45
Mn2250.51158.11C3657901.32C25
Fe218925.0226005.31C366130000.86C25
Co111.053.72.80C532042.70C45
Ni2897.0BDL—C53125001.37C45
Cu7466.7BDL—C36136002.83C53
Zn17425.019005.48C36426001.64C53
tAs236.09713.20C535441.85C45
Se308.555—C361020—C45
Rb7740.190.54.11C36251000.64C25
Sr1546.7BDL—C3620500.74C45
Mo275.51248.41C256632.18C45
Ag33.713.715.50C3664.13.59C53
Cd30.812.418.70C2568.516.30C45
Ba5093.53747.53C36123000.75C25
Pb557.81040.30C369541.28C25
U283.492.54.39C538331.99C45
Sb98.1BDL—C361735.06C45
Sn20250.0165000.43C36279000.68C25
tHg0.30.048.10C360.611.80C53

The whitener panel-mean for B is suppressed in the source’s Table 6 (mean column blank) although the min column shows three BDL samples and one sample at 9,550,000 ppb (C25). The source does not state how the panel-mean was computed when only one of four samples is above BDL.

Sheen (9 samples, Table 7 of source, p. 6-7; ppb)

ElementMean (n=9)MinMin RSD%Min sampleMaxMax RSD%Max sample
Li31287.99318.21C331620001.83C51
B11995.7BDL—C42, C60247003.88C22
Na421888.92160001.71C338750001.97C22
Mg594966.7307003.57C4227700000.23C51
Al4935555.617600000.90C4298600001.06C22
K1936666.74080001.48C3346300001.27C22
Ca6895375.0BDL—C6, C14, C22, C76273000000.68C33
V1215.62083.22C4241801.15C14
Cr1927.810207.17C6834902.30C14
Mn7156.710801.68C42215000.84C14
Fe2075888.93110001.57C5192800001.19C14
Co247.463.95.92C6881010.60C33
Ni1456.2BDL—C14, C22, C51, C6025901.28C76
Cu21494.45105.62C421770000.76C33
Zn59371.7BDL—C6, C14, C421630000.21C60
tAs219.1BDL—C768534.28C33
Se142.3BDL—C14, C22, C51, C6822420.30C60
Rb15096.736900.46C33337000.69C22
Sr8483.055.78.72C42529000.60C33
Mo168.9BDL—C68, C762285.05C33
Ag35.4BDL—C22, C42, C51764.15C33
Cd8.9BDL—C14, C68, C7619.812.50C33
Ba534331.138701.99C4242400000.84C33
Pb3114.21901.22C42225000.29C33
U95.7BDL—C682881.29C33
Sb39.74.167.20C61072.87C33
Sn26911.1172001.64C68468001.26C33
tHg12.6BDL—C6, C14, C2252.1—C51

Face powder (8 samples, Table 8 of source, p. 7-8; ppb)

ElementMean (n=8)MinMin RSD%Min sampleMaxMax RSD%Max sample
Li17995.91611.36C78637000.78C62
B1345945.9BDL—C35, C70, C78107000001.51C24
Na944625.02890001.52C3525700000.40C24
Mg13602500.040700000.43C78263000001.04C44
Al10111500.03740000.35C78310000000.59C24
K10165637.5151004.20C8291000001.07C24
Ca2768625.04200003.16C24116000000.57C62
V5216.314202.01C70157000.77C24
Cr3400.017802.02C1655101.19C35
Mn46725.0222001.07C81170000.46C24
Fe4391250.012100001.52C7887800000.42C70
Co2248.94882.23C7053501.38C35
Ni6557.741.4—C24223001.90C35
Cu6829.5BDL—C24203001.44C70
Zn5429993.821203.31C16244000000.83C70
tAs441.915611.70C87936.62C35
Se1483.851415.80C8445013.40C44
Rb53434.93995.46C81850000.57C62
Sr5108.36221.46C70244000.38C24
Mo382.8BDL—C7012102.97C35
Ag283.631.411.50C6216002.13C24
Cd47.14.63—C1615512.40C24
Ba41846.322201.22C701570001.06C24
Pb4194.39342.33C877100.73C62
U1789.891.22.13C7032501.07C35
Sb774.47116.40C1626500.81C24
Sn31337.5179000.28C16651000.31C44
tHg2.8BDL—C8, C16, C24, C35, C44, C785.20.98C62

Panel-level highest- and lowest-mean rankings (authors’ synthesis, Results and Discussion, p. 8)

  • Face powder carries the highest panel-mean concentration for sixteen elements: B, Mg, Al, K, V, Mn, Co, Zn, As, Se, Rb, Mo, Ag, Cd, Pb, U.
  • Face powder carries the lowest panel-mean concentration for one element: Cu.
  • Base jelly carries the highest panel-mean for six elements: Na, Cr, Fe, Ni, Sb, Sn.
  • Base jelly carries the lowest panel-mean for three elements: K, Ca, Rb.
  • Sheen carries the highest panel-mean for six elements: Li, Ca, Cu, Sr, Ba, Hg.
  • Sheen carries the lowest panel-mean for nine elements: Na, Mg, Ni, As, Se, Mo, Cd, U, Sb.
  • Whitener carries the lowest panel-mean for fifteen elements: Li, B, Al, V, Cr, Mn, Fe, Co, Zn, Sr, Ag, Ba, Pb, Sn, Hg.
  • Whitener does not carry the highest mean for any element.

HMTc-relevant maxima across the 30-sample panel

AnalyteHighest panel-mean (product type)Highest single-sample value (sample code, product type)
Pb4194.3 ppb in Face powder22500 ppb in C33 (Sheen)
Cd47.1 ppb in Face powder155 ppb in C24 (Face powder)
tAs441.9 ppb in Face powder1240 ppb in C26 (Base jelly)
tHg12.6 ppb in Sheen52.1 ppb in C51 (Sheen)
Al10,111,500 ppb (~1.01% by mass) in Face powder31,000,000 ppb (~3.1% by mass) in C24 (Face powder)
Cr3853.3 ppb in Base jelly12800 ppb in C71 (Base jelly)
Ni7539.4 ppb in Base jelly26100 ppb in C71 (Base jelly)
Sn60700 ppb in Base jelly394000 ppb in C46 (Base jelly)
Sb1023.7 ppb in Base jelly3560 ppb in C1 (Base jelly)
U1789.8 ppb in Face powder3250 ppb in C35 (Face powder)

Regulatory comparators cited by the source (Introduction, p. 2)

The Saudi Standards, Metrology and Quality Organization standard for rouge samples (No. 1871, year 2001) is cited as setting limits of As (as As₂O₂) ≤ 2 mg/kg, Pb ≤ 20 mg/kg, Hg ≤ 1 mg/kg. Health Canada is cited as stipulating Pb ≤ 10 ppm in lipsticks (no internationally agreed limit, per the source). EU Directive 76/768/EEC and further revisions are cited as banning the use of Cd, Co, Cr, Ni, and Pb as metallic ions or salts in cosmetic formulations. The source does not present a numeric exceedance count against any of these limits; converting the maxima above to mg/kg (22.5 mg/kg Pb in C33 Sheen; 0.16 mg/kg Cd in C24 Face powder; 0.052 mg/kg Hg in C51 Sheen; 1.24 mg/kg tAs in C26 Base jelly) shows the maximum Pb sample (22.5 mg/kg in C33 Sheen) exceeds both the Saudi rouge standard (20 mg/kg Pb) and the Health Canada lipstick limit (10 ppm Pb), and the maximum tAs sample (1.24 mg/kg) sits just below the Saudi 2 mg/kg As limit. The source itself does not perform this comparison.

Methods

Sampling. Nine “most expensive” facial-cosmetic brands were purchased from the Saudi (Riyadh) retail market and assigned anonymized per-sample codes (C1, C6, C8, C9, C14, C16, C17, C22, C24, C25, C26, C33, C35, C36, C37, C42, C44, C45, C46, C51, C53, C55, C60, C62, C63, C68, C70, C71, C76, C78). Four facial-cosmetic product types were sampled across the nine brands: Base jelly (9 samples), Whitener (4 samples), Sheen (9 samples), and Face powder (8 samples), for 30 samples total. The source does not state the criteria for “most expensive,” does not report sample collection dates or lot numbers, and does not disclose brand identities (the C-codes are not brand identifiers and the brand-to-code mapping is not provided).

Sample digestion. Each sample was weighed accurately at 0.1-0.2 g into a TEFLON microwave digestion tube (120 mL). 7.0 mL of an acid mixture (HNO₃: HF: HCl, 4.5: 2: 0.5) was added and the tube sealed. Microwave digestion used a Milestone ETHOS 1600 system with a four-step heating program (Step 1: 400 W, 15 min, 195 °C; Step 2: 0 W, 2 min, 195 °C; Step 3: 300 W, 10 min, 195 °C; Step 4: 400 W, 15 min, 195 °C; source Table 1, p. 2). After cooling, the lid was rinsed with distilled deionized water (DDW) and the mixture heated on a hotplate at 120 °C for 30 min to evaporate residual HF and HCl. The resulting digest was filtered through polypropylene flask using 1% HNO₃ and made up to 50 mL final volume. For ICP-MS measurement the clear digest was diluted 10-fold incorporating a 10 µg/L ¹⁰³Rh internal standard. Samples and standard reference materials were prepared in batches of six including a blank (HNO₃/HF/HCl) digest.

Reagents and standards. High-purity water (DDW, specific resistivity 18 MΩ·cm⁻¹) from an E-pure water purification system (Barnstead, USA). HNO₃, HF, and HCl were Suprapur® grade (Merck, Germany). A multi-element standard containing 27 elements was prepared from Perkin-Elmer single-element ICP standards (1000 or 10,000 ppm). The IAEA-SOIL-7 certified reference material (International Atomic Energy Agency, Vienna) was used for accuracy validation.

ICP-MS instrumentation. A Perkin-Elmer Sciex ELAN 6100 inductively coupled plasma mass spectrometer with quadrupole mass filter, cross-flow nebulizer, and Scott-type spray chamber was used for the 27 non-mercury elements (Li, B, Na, Mg, Al, K, Ca, V, Cr, Mn, Fe, Co, Ni, Cu, Zn, As, Se, Rb, Sr, Mo, Ag, Cd, Ba, Pb, U, Sb, Sn). The source states 28 elements were detected but the tables report 27 ICP-MS elements + 1 FIMS element (Hg) for 28 total. ICP-MS was not used with chromatographic separation, so As is reported as total arsenic and Cr is reported as total Cr (the source refers to both as “As” and “Cr” without speciation qualifiers).

Mercury — FIMS instrumentation. A Perkin Elmer FIMS-400 flow-injection mercury system was used for Hg. The FIAS program “Mercury 2” used slit width 0.7 nm, wavelength 253.4 nm, technique FIAS-MHS, read time 15.0 s, read delay 0.0 s, BOC time 2.0 s, peak-height measurement, linear zero-intercept calibration, AA signal type (source Table 3, p. 4). The FIMS pumps program ran a pre-fill plus eight steps with Pump 1 speed 100 (steps pre-fill, 1, 2) and 0 (steps 3-8), Pump 2 speed 40 throughout, valve position switching between Fill and Inject (source Table 4, p. 4). The blank used in the Hg analysis contained 2 v/v% H₂SO₄, 2 v/v% HNO₃, and approximately 1.0 mg/L KMnO₄ in deionized water. All measuring standards and sample solutions were stabilized in the same medium. FIMS measures total mercury, reported here as tHg.

Quality assurance. Analytical accuracy was checked against IAEA-SOIL-7. The source’s Table 2 shows most elements falling within the IAEA 95% confidence interval; Co, V, Zn, and Se fall outside the certified range, with Se ~63% above the upper bound at 34.6% RSD — Se quantitation should be treated with caution. Sn, B, Ag, and Mn lack certified IAEA-SOIL-7 reference values. Per-sample RSD% is reported in Tables 5-8 for many cells but not for all.

Method-quality reporting gaps. The source does not report: numeric LODs or LOQs, procedural-blank values, spike-recovery percentages, within-run replicate count per sample, calibration ranges and curve-fit parameters per element, per-brand or per-sample tabulations (only anonymized codes), brand-to-code mapping, sample collection dates, lot numbers, or product label/ingredient compositions. RSD% is reported per cell in Tables 5-8 but is absent for some minimum and BDL cells. Counts of “elements detected” disagree between the abstract/methods (“28 elements”) and the actual table content (27 ICP-MS elements + 1 FIMS element = 28 elements measured; 20 elements explicitly described as “the concentration of twenty elements in ppb (µg/Kg) in the facial cosmetics… are reported” in the Results and Discussion narrative, p. 4, although the tables actually display 27 elements each — a paper-internal inconsistency).

Implications

Certification. The paper contributes Cat 2 Children Personal Care occurrence data for adult-use facial cosmetics on the Saudi retail market, with most of the panel comprising makeup-foundation-style products (Face powder, Sheen, Base jelly). The “Whitener” product type is a skin-lightening cosmetic (per the HMTc Cat 2 Step 0 lock, skin-lightening products are out of HMTc certification scope; per Skin Lightening Cream — RETIRED (out of HMTc scope) the slug is retired with redirect to the public advisory page). The data are best treated as contributing to per-row marginal distributions for the makeup-foundation category, with B-tier weighting reflecting n=4-9 per product type, no per-brand tabulation, no LOD/LOQ reporting, and the Se SRM-recovery caveat. The single-sample maximum Pb in C33 (Sheen, 22.5 mg/kg) exceeds both the Saudi national rouge standard (20 mg/kg Pb) and the Health Canada lipstick limit (10 ppm Pb) cited in the source’s own introduction, but the source does not perform an explicit exceedance count.

Courses. Useful as a worked example of brand-anonymous panel design (per-sample C-codes with no brand-to-code mapping) and as a teachable example of where SRM recovery should be reviewed before downstream synthesis — Se in this dataset runs systematically above the IAEA-certified range and would warrant either re-measurement or down-weighting in synthesis. The four-product-type ranking summary (which product type carries the highest mean for which element) is a clean example of cross-product-form comparative reporting within a single study.

App. Relevant for the consumer-facing app’s adult-cosmetics scoring layer for foundation, face powder, highlighter/illuminator (Sheen), and skin-lightening (Whitener) product categories on the Middle East market. Per the app must not surface brand-level rankings; consistent with that, this source reports anonymized per-sample values that cannot be tied to a specific brand and routes only into per-product-form aggregates downstream.

Microbiome. Not applicable — the study measures elemental impurities only, with no microbial component.

Update history

No substantive edit history is available in this build. The full commit record is available in git.