This open-access Toxicology Reports study measured manganese, nickel, copper, cadmium, chromium, and lead in 30 cosmetic products purchased from markets in Kano metropolis, Nigeria, by flame atomic absorption spectrometry (Buck Scientific 210 VGP). The panel comprised 10 face powders, 10 skin lightening creams, and 10 lipsticks in varying price ranges. Results were compared with WHO and EU cosmetic standards. The study found no significant difference between expensive and cheap products for the metals measured.
Key numbers
Six metals quantified by AAS (Buck Scientific 210 VGP) and reported as ranges and means in mg/kg (ppm) in the finished product. CRM, spike recovery, LOD, and LOQ are not reported.
Face powder results (Table 4 of source; n=10 products, mg/kg)
Cadmium up to 1.74 mg/kg exceeded the EU 1 ppm limit cited by the source for cadmium in finished cosmetics. Nickel ranged from 7.35 to 14.71 mg/kg. Lead ranged from 0.08 to 0.33 mg/kg, below the FDA 10 ppm guidance limit. Chromium was near or below the detection threshold across face powders.
Source-stated standard exceedances in face powders
The source reports that some face powder samples exceeded the WHO limit for cadmium (1 ppm) and that nickel was present at levels warranting attention, but lead was within the WHO cosmetics recommendation.
Methods
Products were purchased from Kano markets. Sample preparation involved wet acid digestion with concentrated nitric acid and perchloric acid (3:1 ratio) in a hot-water bath (60-80 degrees Celsius for 30-45 minutes). Analysis was by flame atomic absorption spectrometry (Buck Scientific 210 VGP). Calibration curves were prepared for each element. CRM, recovery, LOD, and LOQ are not reported.
Evidence fitness
This source supports category-level estimates of manganese, nickel, copper, cadmium, chromium, and lead in face powders from one Nigerian market. Ranges are reported across n=10 samples per category, giving a moderate view of within-category variability. The source does not cover arsenic, mercury, aluminum, or tin. Recovery, CRM, LOD, and LOQ are absent, which limits quantitative confidence. Products are described as face powders, not cornstarch-based adult dusting powder specifically.
Limitations
One market in Kano, Nigeria. No CRM, spike recovery, LOD, or LOQ reported. Instrument calibration details are limited. Total chromium measured; hexavalent chromium not speciated. Arsenic, mercury, aluminum, and tin are not in the analyte panel. Products are face powders, not labeled as cornstarch-based.
Related evidence
- Lead
- Cadmium
- Nickel
- Chromium
- Dusting powder, cornstarch base (clean sibling of r2 talc)
- Advisory: Skin-Lightening Products
- Lip products (lipstick, gloss, lip liner, adult lip balm)
Update history
No substantive edit history is available in this build. The full commit record is available in git.
