This Spanish study used inductively coupled plasma mass spectrometry (ICP-MS) to measure essential elements (calcium, cobalt, potassium, magnesium, manganese, sodium, nickel, phosphorus) and non-essential/toxic elements (mercury, lead, uranium, vanadium) in 32 samples of milks and plant-based drinks from Spanish markets, including infant formulas from both organic and conventional production. Spinach leaves (SRM 1570a) and whole milk powder (SRM 1549a) certified reference materials were used; recoveries were 75-110%.
The key finding for infant formula: non-essential elements including lead, mercury, uranium, and vanadium were not detected in most samples. Lead was detected in only 3 of the 32 samples total (across all matrix types combined). No significant differences in non-essential element concentrations were found between organic and conventional production or between lactose-free and lactose-containing products.
Key numbers
The limit of detection for lead and mercury was 0.05 µg/g (50 µg/kg or 50 ppb). Lead was detected in 3 of 32 samples. Specific product types with detections are not disclosed to avoid brand identification.
| Analyte | Findings in milks and formula | LOD (µg/g) |
|---|---|---|
| Lead (total) | Detected in 3 of 32 samples; most below LOD | 0.05 |
| Mercury (total) | Not detected in milks or formula | 0.05 |
| Uranium | Not detected in milks or formula | 0.025 |
| Vanadium | Not detected in milks or formula | 0.05 |
| Nickel | Detected in 6 of 32 samples; not quantified for most | 0.05 |
| Cobalt | Low concentrations | 0.025 |
The study did not report cadmium, arsenic, aluminium, tin, or chromium measurements.
Methods (brief)
Spanish retail market sampling of 32 products. ICP-MS analysis (Ca, Co, mercury (Hg), K, Mg, Mn, Na, nickel (Ni), P, lead (Pb), uranium (U), V). Recoveries 75-110%. LOD values listed above. Infant formulas analyzed from organic and conventional production systems. The study does not report stage 1 vs stage 2 designations for the infant formulas included.
Evidence fitness
This source provides supporting context for European (Spanish) market evidence on lead and mercury in infant formula, with the finding that most samples are below the LOD of 50 ppb. This is usable as a “mostly below detection” supporting datum for the product literature summary but does not supply quantitative concentration rows because most values were below LOD. The infant formula sample count within the total of 32 is not explicitly broken out.
The analyte scope does not include cadmium, arsenic, aluminium, or tin, which limits its coverage of the HMTc panel.
Limitations
The infant formula sample count within the total of 32 is not explicitly stated for the infant formula sub-group. Stage designations are not reported. LOD of 50 ppb for lead and mercury means samples below this level are non-detected; this LOD is high relative to typical EU maximum limits for lead in infant formula (10 ppb). The analyte panel does not cover cadmium, arsenic, aluminium, or tin.
Related evidence
- Lead
- Mercury
- Nickel
- Infant Formula, Powder (Non-Soy)
- Infant Formula Stage 1
- Toxic Metals and Metalloids in Infant Formulas Marketed in Brazil, and Child Health Risks According to the Target Hazard Quotients and Target Cancer Risk
Update history
No substantive edit history is available in this build. The full commit record is available in git.
