Overview
This is a category risk profile assembled from the ingredients that drive it. It does not test products, name brands, or publish brand-by-brand tables. The metals that govern it, in the routed corpus, are Lead and Cadmium.
Ingredient drivers
The inputs below are ordered by their share of the routed occurrence evidence for the metal each drives; the bar shows relative position within this category, not a comparison against any limit.
Leading inorganic arsenic driver among this category's routed inputs — p95 384.2 ppb, 1 source, low confidence.
Leading lead driver among this category's routed inputs — p95 200 ppb, 38 sources, high confidence.
Leading lead driver among this category's routed inputs — p95 30 ppb, 4 sources, medium confidence.
Limits applicable to this category
The category inherits the maximum levels and action levels that apply to it. These are regulatory limits, not certification thresholds.
| Instrument | Metal | Value | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| FDA 2022 Draft — Lead Action Levels for Juice | Lead | 20 µg/kg | Guidance |
Testing and verification posture
Occurrence values in this category are measured by ICP-MS in the source literature, the same method the FDA Toxic Elements Program uses for the survey data behind its action levels.
Where third-party testing programs are cited as sources, the category-level signal is summarized and the reader is pointed at the original document for anything brand-specific. The Index does not reproduce brand-by-brand tables.
Literature scope
The Heavy Metal Index source corpus is currently focused on food and food-contact materials. This page documents an HMTc Taxonomy v2.0 row in the category this product class for which no peer-reviewed primary or government sources have yet been ingested. The page exists as the routing destination for future ingest. Until sources land, the literature-evidence sections below are deliberately empty rather than guessed; HMTc certification thresholds for products in this row continue to be developed under the certification program at heavymetalcertified.com, not on this public page.
Decision Snapshot
| Field | Status |
|---|---|
| Row state | Locked row node; structured occurrence extraction started |
| Category hub | Category 5: Beverages |
| Crosswalk hub | Regulatory Crosswalk vs Field Findings |
| HMTc use | Routing and evidence-gap tracking only; not a certification threshold |
Federal / Regulatory Limits vs Field Findings
This is the fast comparison view for standards developers, regulators, retailers, brands, and legal teams. It shows the applicable federal or regulatory limit next to the current field-evidence state. It is not an HMTc pass/fail table; technical distributions remain in the evidence sections below.
| Metal | Federal / regulatory limit | Actual field finding | Decision read | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lead (Pb) | FDA 2022 Draft — Lead Action Levels for Juice: Federal FDA draft level, not final: 20 ug/kg Pb. Scope: other single-strength juices and juice blends. Basis: single-strength ready-to-drink juice. | No comparable field-finding row has been promoted yet for this beverage category. | Draft context only. Do not present this value as a final federal limit or an HMTc threshold. | FDA 2022 Draft — Lead Action Levels for Juice |
Evidence Handling
Finished-product findings belong on this product page. Ingredient-only findings belong on ingredient pages before they are used for product inference.
Literature Evidence Summary
The table below summarizes what the peer-reviewed and government literature cited on this page reports for heavy-metal concentrations in root-vegetable-containing vegetable juice. Values are pulled directly from cited sources without re-aggregation. This page publishes literature evidence only, not certification thresholds.
Methodology rules for speciation, basis preservation, non-detect handling, and source pooling are stated in the Methodology section above and apply to every row below.
| Analyte | Subcategory | Reported concentration range | Detection rate | Applicable regulatory cap | Sources | Confidence | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pb | root-vegetable-containing (no contributing evidence loaded) | No concentration data loaded for this analyte | Sample-level detection rate not reported | FDA 2022 Draft — Lead Action Levels for Juice: 20 ppb (single-strength ready-to-drink juice) | 0 | data gap | Basis not reported |
| Cd | root-vegetable-containing (no contributing evidence loaded) | No concentration data loaded for this analyte | Sample-level detection rate not reported | No applicable cap loaded | 0 | data gap | Basis not reported |
Sources
- Source promotion pending.
Update history
No substantive edit history is available in this build. The full commit record is available in git.