The paper measured lead in Mexican candies in 2008 and 2018 by ICP-MS. This note uses Table 1 rows the table labels as lollipops. Gummy, chili powder, and tamarind candy rows are not used. Commercial names are omitted. Lead limit of detection was 0.2 ng/g. Recovery was 90% to 110%. None of the analyzed samples were below the limit of detection. The unit is ppm. Wet versus dry weight is not stated.
Key numbers
Arithmetic means (range) of lead, ppm. A 2008 cell marked as a single piece is labeled as one sample.
| Lollipop row | 2008 mean or single value (ppm) | 2018 mean (ppm) |
|---|---|---|
| Row 1 | 0.096 (0.059 to 0.157); highest piece 0.16 | 0.018 (0.013 to 0.021); highest piece 0.02 |
| Row 2 | 0.192, one sample; highest piece 0.19 | 0.006 (0.004 to 0.008); highest piece 0.01 |
| Row 3 | 0.700, one sample; highest piece 0.70 | 0.011 (0.009 to 0.015); highest piece 0.01 |
| Row 4 | 0.032 (0.005 to 0.129); highest piece 0.13 | 0.004 (0.003 to 0.004); highest piece 0.00 |
| Row 5 | not analyzed | 0.005 (0.002 to 0.011); highest piece 0.01 |
| Row 6 | not analyzed | 0.006 (0.004 to 0.008); highest piece 0.01 |
| Row 7 | not analyzed | 0.030 (0.009 to 0.099); highest piece 0.10 |
The discussion says one lollipop had lead of 0.1 ppm, while Table 1 prints a 2008 highest of 0.13 ppm on row 4, whose range upper bound is 0.129. Both are printed. The 2018 highest on row 7 is 0.10 ppm, and the discussion prints 0.1 ppm for that style of lollipop. Figure 1 per-piece microgram values are chart-only and cover more than lollipops.
Methods (brief)
About 2 g was digested and measured by ICP-MS. Column header is an arithmetic mean and range of 5 samples, except the 2008 single-piece footnote.
Evidence fitness
These rows support a lollipop lead note with 2008 and 2018 kept separate. They do not support a brand ranking.
Limitations
Commercial names are omitted. Wet versus dry is not stated. The discussion and the table disagree on one 2008 highest value.
Related evidence
Update history
No substantive edit history is available in this build. The full commit record is available in git.