Overview
Wang and colleagues estimated dietary lead exposure for Guangzhou residents using lead concentrations from the local food safety risk monitoring system. The occurrence dataset included 6339 samples across 27 food categories collected in 2014-2017. The paper reports lead only; it does not measure arsenic, cadmium, mercury, chromium, or tin.
Key numbers
Table 2 reports lead concentrations in food in mg/kg:
| Food category | Samples | Mean | SD | P50 | 95th percentile | >LOD, % |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rice and rice products | 990 | 0.0341 | 0.0430 | 0.0151 | 0.1341 | 73.2 |
| Wheat flour and products | 1165 | 0.0509 | 0.0634 | 0.0260 | 0.1707 | 81.7 |
| Flour products with fillings | 26 | 0.0158 | 0.0118 | 0.0130 | 0.0427 | 88.5 |
| Other cereals | 479 | 0.0206 | 0.0264 | 0.0090 | 0.0820 | 57.6 |
| Pulses | 110 | 0.0272 | 0.0262 | 0.0200 | 0.0700 | 80.0 |
| Bean products | 110 | 0.0151 | 0.0245 | 0.0089 | 0.0645 | 74.5 |
| Preserved eggs | 34 | 0.0341 | 0.1646 | 0.0040 | 0.2660 | 64.7 |
| Eggs | 306 | 0.0099 | 0.0115 | 0.0060 | 0.0307 | 68.6 |
| Pig meat | 221 | 0.0127 | 0.0122 | 0.0100 | 0.0300 | 69.7 |
| Livestock meat excluding pork | 86 | 0.0083 | 0.0113 | 0.0045 | 0.0356 | 62.8 |
| Poultry | 99 | 0.0115 | 0.0162 | 0.0090 | 0.0280 | 83.8 |
| Edible offal | 140 | 0.0240 | 0.0319 | 0.0190 | 0.0700 | 89.3 |
| Meat products | 72 | 0.0394 | 0.0262 | 0.0345 | 0.0837 | 100.0 |
| Milk powder | 145 | 0.0071 | 0.0081 | 0.0050 | 0.0200 | 22.8 |
| Milk | 208 | 0.0036 | 0.0023 | 0.0500 | 0.0050 | 3.4 |
| Leafy vegetables | 356 | 0.0354 | 0.0464 | 0.0170 | 0.1432 | 77.2 |
| Fruiting vegetables | 163 | 0.0130 | 0.0167 | 0.0060 | 0.0468 | 62.0 |
| Root and tuber vegetables | 5 | 0.0230 | 0.0124 | 0.0220 | 0.3500 | 100.0 |
| Legume vegetables | 115 | 0.0209 | 0.0360 | 0.0050 | 0.1096 | 62.6 |
| Bulb vegetables | 42 | 0.0505 | 0.0616 | 0.0270 | 0.2140 | 64.3 |
| Fruit | 223 | 0.0160 | 0.0181 | 0.0090 | 0.0594 | 67.3 |
| Fish | 536 | 0.0134 | 0.0178 | 0.0068 | 0.0483 | 70.9 |
| Crustaceans | 143 | 0.0109 | 0.0101 | 0.0074 | 0.0322 | 68.5 |
| Mollusks | 318 | 0.1384 | 0.1117 | 0.1200 | 0.3351 | 99.7 |
| Dried seafood | 24 | 0.3219 | 0.2603 | 0.2365 | 0.9000 | 100.0 |
| Algae | 175 | 0.3947 | 0.4349 | 0.3400 | 0.8938 | 78.9 |
| Edible fungi | 48 | 0.0729 | 0.0147 | 0.0750 | 0.0900 | 100.0 |
| Total | 6339 | 0.0433 | 0.1104 | 0.0130 | 0.1710 | 71.6 |
The source states that lead concentrations were below the LOD in 28.4% of samples, for an overall detection rate of 71.6%. It identifies the highest average lead concentrations as algae (dry) at 0.3947 mg/kg, dried seafood at 0.3219 mg/kg, mollusks at 0.1384 mg/kg, edible fungi at 0.0729 mg/kg, wheat flour and products at 0.0509 mg/kg, bulb vegetables at 0.0505 mg/kg, meat products at 0.0394 mg/kg, leafy vegetables at 0.0354 mg/kg, rice and rice products at 0.0341 mg/kg, and preserved eggs at 0.0341 mg/kg.
The abstract and Tables 3-4 report these exposure/risk summary values:
| Population group | Mean dietary Pb intake, µg/kg bw/day | 95th percentile dietary Pb intake, µg/kg bw/day | MOE at mean exposure | MOE at 95th percentile exposure |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 3-6 years | 0.7466 | 2.4525 | 0.8 | 0.2 |
| 7-17 years | 0.4739 | 1.5522 | 1.3 | 0.4 |
| 18-59 years | 0.3759 | 1.1832 | 3.2 | 1.0 |
| >=60 years | 0.4031 | 1.3589 | 3.0 | 0.9 |
| Total population | 0.4033 | 1.3049 | not reported in extracted text | not reported in extracted text |
Table 3 reports total-population contribution fractions of 21.42% for rice and rice products, 20.01% for leafy vegetables, 11.75% for wheat flour and products, 5.45% for pig meat, 5.33% for fruiting vegetables, 4.74% for algae, 3.64% for flour products with fillings, and 3.47% for fruit.
Methods (brief)
Lead concentration data came from the Guangzhou food safety risk monitoring system for 2014-2017. Investigators acting as consumers purchased samples from retailers including supermarkets, restaurants, agricultural product wholesale markets, and stores. Samples were placed in sealed plastic bags and sent to the laboratory for cryopreservation until digestion. Aliquots of 0.3-0.8 g were digested in 5 mL nitric acid plus 2 mL 30% hydrogen peroxide in a microwave decomposition system, then analyzed by ICP-MS. Non-detected results were assigned a value of 1/2 LOD for occurrence and dietary exposure calculations; the authors report a lead LOD of 0.003 mg/kg.
Related evidence
Update history
The five most recent substantive edits to this page, classified major (evidence or structure moved), correction (a published value or statement was wrong and has been fixed), or minor (narrative rewritten without changing the underlying evidence). Each description is derived from what the edit did to this page; the linked commit is the authoritative record, routine regeneration passes are excluded, and the full version history lives in git.
| Commit | Date | Change | Description |
|---|---|---|---|
| b01ec52c31 | 2026-08-04 | major | 1 section added |
| 3171d069e3 | 2026-08-02 | major | 1 section added |
| 90a2f9a38e | 2026-07-30 | major | 1 section added and 1 removed; narrative text revised |
| eaa8eeeedf | 2026-07-27 | major | 1 section added and 1 removed |
| 50de6ab217 | 2026-07-27 | minor | Narrative text revised |
