Provisional scaffold. This page was created automatically on 2026-05-17 so that an ingested source could route to it. The HMTc taxonomy row, clean/contaminated pairing, primary metals of concern, and detailed scope have not yet been locked. Content below is minimal until a synthesis pass or taxonomy review consolidates the literature for this product class.
Reason: heal-gaps: routing_unresolved entry from source trace2025-trace-element-intake-dairy-free declared product/infant-formula-dairy-free, no close-slug match
Triggering source: trace2025-trace-element-intake-dairy-free
Literature scope
The literature corpus for this product class is currently thin. Sources route here as ingest proceeds; once enough sources accumulate, the synthesis pass will populate the Literature Evidence Summary, Source Evidence Inventory, and downstream sections.
Who this page is for
This provisional page is for readers tracking infant feeding products that are not dairy-based, including plant-based formula-like products and dairy-free porridges. QA and regulatory readers should treat the page as a high-uncertainty routing hub: current evidence includes Mn context for soy/rice-containing formula products, arsenic exposure context from an endemic-region biomonitoring study, and a pending-review dairy-free porridge trace-element source.
Evidence summary
Evidence summary
The table below summarizes what the peer-reviewed and government literature cited on this page reports for heavy-metal concentrations in Infant Formula Dairy Free. Values are pulled directly from cited sources without re-aggregation. This page publishes literature evidence only, not certification thresholds.
Methodology rules for speciation, basis preservation, non-detect handling, and source pooling are stated in the Methodology section above and apply to every row below.
| Analyte | Subcategory | Reported concentration range | Detection rate | Applicable regulatory cap | Sources | Confidence | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pb | Infant Formula Dairy Free (no contributing evidence loaded) | No concentration data loaded for this analyte | Sample-level detection rate not reported | No applicable cap loaded | 0 | data gap | Basis not reported |
| Cd | Infant Formula Dairy Free (no contributing evidence loaded) | No concentration data loaded for this analyte | Sample-level detection rate not reported | No applicable cap loaded | 0 | data gap | Basis not reported |
| iAs | Infant Formula Dairy Free (no contributing evidence loaded) | No concentration data loaded for this analyte | Sample-level detection rate not reported | No applicable cap loaded | 0 | data gap | Basis not reported |
| tAs | Infant Formula Dairy Free (no contributing evidence loaded) | No concentration data loaded for this analyte | Sample-level detection rate not reported | No applicable cap loaded | 0 | data gap | Basis not reported |
| MeHg | Infant Formula Dairy Free (no contributing evidence loaded) | No concentration data loaded for this analyte | Sample-level detection rate not reported | No applicable cap loaded | 0 | data gap | Basis not reported |
| tHg | Infant Formula Dairy Free (no contributing evidence loaded) | No concentration data loaded for this analyte | Sample-level detection rate not reported | No applicable cap loaded | 0 | data gap | Basis not reported |
| Ni | Infant Formula Dairy Free (no contributing evidence loaded) | No concentration data loaded for this analyte | Sample-level detection rate not reported | No applicable cap loaded | 0 | data gap | Basis not reported |
| Al | Infant Formula Dairy Free (no contributing evidence loaded) | No concentration data loaded for this analyte | Sample-level detection rate not reported | No applicable cap loaded | 0 | data gap | Basis not reported |
| Cr-VI | Infant Formula Dairy Free (no contributing evidence loaded) | No concentration data loaded for this analyte | Sample-level detection rate not reported | No applicable cap loaded | 0 | data gap | Basis not reported |
| Sn | Infant Formula Dairy Free (no contributing evidence loaded) | No concentration data loaded for this analyte | Sample-level detection rate not reported | No applicable cap loaded | 0 | data gap | Basis not reported |
Source Evidence Inventory
Manganese levels in infant formula and young child nutritional beverages in the United States and France: Comparison to breast milk and regulations contributes Mn evidence for infant formula and young-child nutrition products, including soy- and rice-containing product contexts in the United States and France. It is strong Mn context but not a Pb/Cd/As/Hg contaminant screen.
High Arsenic Contamination in the Breast Milk of Mothers Inhabiting the Gangetic Plains of Bihar: A Major Health Risk to Infants contributes tAs biomonitoring and dietary-source context from Bihar, India, where groundwater and staples contributed to infant exposure. It is not direct finished-product dairy-free formula composition. trace2025-trace-element-intake-dairy-free is routed here as a dairy-free infant porridge trace-element source, but its page remains pending full-paper integration, so it should be used as a gap flag until exact values are extracted.
Supporting evidence and scope
Pending: regenerated by tools/evidence/apply-product-broad-context.mjs once broad-scope sources route to this page.
Federal/Regulatory Limits vs Field Findings
Pending: regenerated by tools/apply-product-crosswalk-sections.mjs once applicable_regulations are identified and field-finding evidence is pooled.
Controls and mitigation
The current evidence points to ingredient-base separation as the first lever. Rice-containing dairy-free products need arsenic speciation attention; soy and grain-based products need their own finished-product testing rather than borrowing dairy-formula assumptions; Mn should be reviewed where products are supplemented or grain/rice based. Water used for preparation remains a separate exposure input and should not be folded into product occurrence values unless the source measures prepared product.
How standards math uses this page
This page reports what the peer-reviewed and government literature says about heavy-metal concentrations in this product category; it publishes no certification thresholds of its own. Certification criteria are set separately under the Heavy Metal Tested & Certified program at heavymetalcertified.com, which reads this page as its literature baseline. The two are kept apart by design, so this page remains an independent record of the evidence rather than a justification for any threshold.
Historical recalls and enforcement
No dairy-free infant formula recall or enforcement source is currently routed to this provisional page. Future entries should be public-record regulatory summaries, not brand rankings or ingredient generalizations.
Methodology
Dairy-free evidence must preserve product form and ingredient base. Soy, rice, oat, almond, coconut, amino-acid, and cereal-porridge products should not be pooled until the source resolves matrix, age target, preparation basis, and analyte species. Total arsenic remains tAs unless inorganic arsenic is measured; Cr remains total Cr unless Cr(VI) is measured.
References
Works cited in this page’s text, in first-appearance order. See Sources for this page’s source inventory. Each title links to a source record with bibliographic details, reported findings, and document provenance.
- Manganese levels in infant formula and young child nutritional beverages in the United States and France: Comparison to breast milk and regulationsPeer-reviewed
- High Arsenic Contamination in the Breast Milk of Mothers Inhabiting the Gangetic Plains of Bihar: A Major Health Risk to InfantsPeer-reviewed
Sources
Source records associated with this topic. Inclusion does not establish that every finding applies to this product or ingredient. References above identify works cited in the text.
| # | Citation | Year | Type | Used on this page for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | FDA 2026. Analytical Results for Toxic Elements in Infant Formula, FY2023-FY2025 Special Survey, FDA analytical results table | 2026 | Government dataset | US tAs, Pb, Cd, tHg occurrence in FDA special survey infant formula samples tested in FY2023-FY2025 (n=312) |
| 2 | Frisbie et al. 2019. Manganese levels in infant formula and young child nutritional beverages in the United States and France: Comparison to breast milk and regulations, PLOS ONE | 2019 | Peer-reviewed | US/FR/EU Mn occurrence in 44 infant formulas and young-child nutritional beverage products purchased in the United States (n=25) and France (n=19), selected… (n=44) |
| 3 | Meyer et al. 2018. Low inorganic arsenic in hydrolysed-rice formula used for cow’s milk protein allergy, Pediatric Allergy and Immunology | 2018 | Peer-reviewed | IT/FR/BE iAs occurrence in Commercially available hydrolysed-rice infant formula powders sourced from Italy, France, and Belgium; six distinct product variants, two batches… (n=10) |
| 4 | EFSA 2008. Safety of Aluminium from Dietary Intake, The EFSA Journal 2008;754:1-34 | 2008 | Government report | EU Al concentrations |
Update history
No substantive edit history is available in this build. The full commit record is available in git.