Skip to content
Heavy Metal Index
An unmarked metal beverage can and a glass of pale amber fizzy liquid illustrating Bunu 2023 Bayelsa energy-drink study research context.

Heavy Metals Quantification and Correlative Carcinogenic-Risks Evaluation in Selected Energy Drinks Sold in Bayelsa State Using Atomic Absorption Spectroscopic Technique

Overview

Bunu and colleagues (Niger Delta University, Wilberforce Island; Bayelsa Medical University, Yenagoa) quantified lead, cadmium, iron, and zinc in eleven energy-drink brands purchased from general markets in Amassoma and Yenagoa, Bayelsa State, Nigeria, using atomic absorption spectrophotometry after concentrated-nitric/perchloric-acid wet digestion. The authors computed Estimated Daily Intake (EDI), Chronic Daily Intake (CDI), and Target Hazard Quotient (THQ) per sample against WHO permissible-limit and EPA Reference-Oral-Dose comparators, framing the study as a carcinogenic-risk evaluation. The principal finding is that every one of the eleven samples exceeded the WHO 0.01 mg L⁻¹ permissible limit for lead (Table 1 range 0.018–0.332 mg L⁻¹), while cadmium was below the detection floor (<0.002 mg L⁻¹) across all samples, iron sat below the WHO 1.0–3.0 mg L⁻¹ band (0.026–1.85 mg L⁻¹), and zinc sat below the WHO 5.00 mg L⁻¹ ceiling (<0.002–0.493 mg L⁻¹). Despite the uniform lead exceedance against the WHO drinking-water-equivalent ceiling, the authors compute lead (Pb) THQ values of 0.029–0.286 (all <1) and conclude that no carcinogenic health risk is associated with consumption.

Key numbers

All concentrations are reported in the source as mg L⁻¹ on an as-sold beverage basis. The source does not report a replicate structure (n per sample), an instrument limit of detection, certified-reference-material recovery, or analytical blank-correction details. The instrument is identified only as “Atomic Absorption Spectrometer, Model D1971/4691” (Materials and Methods, p. 1). The Cadmium column for every sample is reported as “<0.002 mg L⁻¹”, which is treated as the de facto cadmium (Cd) detection floor for this study; Zn values reported as “<0.002 mg L⁻¹” are similarly treated as below-detection.

Element-symbol convention used by the source. The source uses the symbol “Pd” throughout (in all four tables, the abstract, the discussion, and the conclusion) to denote the element measured as lead. The paper’s introduction explicitly identifies the metal as lead (“lead, cadmium, iron, and zinc”), and the cited WHO 0.01 mg L⁻¹ permissible limit and 3.5 × 10⁻³ EPA reference oral dose correspond to lead, not to palladium. “Pd” in the source’s tables is therefore a clear typographical error for “Pb”. This wiki page records the values as lead (Pb) throughout and uses the abbreviation Pb in the metals source metadata.

Heavy metal concentrations in eleven energy-drink samples (Table 1, p. 2, mg L⁻¹)

SampleLead (Pb)*Cadmium (Cd)Iron (Fe)Zinc (Zn)
D10.276<0.0020.7270.162
D20.147<0.0020.907<0.002
D30.074<0.0020.154<0.002
D40.073<0.0020.919<0.002
D50.018<0.0020.026<0.002
D60.166<0.0020.2260.134
D70.129<0.0021.65<0.002
D80.037<0.0020.113<0.002
D90.074<0.0020.2820.047
D100.147<0.0021.270.493
D110.332<0.0021.850.332
Control (H₂O)<0.009<0.0020.026<0.002
WHO permissible limit0.010.0031.0–3.05.00
EPA Reference Oral Dose (RfD)3.5 × 10⁻³5 × 10⁻⁴7 × 10⁻³3 × 10⁻¹

*Reported as “Pd” in the source; recorded here as Pb (see element-symbol convention note above).

Per-analyte detected ranges across the panel of eleven samples:

  • Pb: 0.018–0.332 mg L⁻¹ (all eleven samples above the WHO 0.01 mg L⁻¹ permissible limit; eleven of eleven exceedances).
  • Cd: all eleven samples <0.002 mg L⁻¹ (below the de facto detection floor; the source does not declare an instrument LOD, so 0.002 mg L⁻¹ is the assumed analyte-specific reporting floor).
  • Fe: 0.026–1.85 mg L⁻¹ (eleven of eleven below the WHO 3.0 mg L⁻¹ upper bound; one sample, D11 at 1.85 mg L⁻¹, sits above the 1.0 mg L⁻¹ lower bound of the WHO 1.0–3.0 mg L⁻¹ band; D7 at 1.65 mg L⁻¹ and D10 at 1.27 mg L⁻¹ likewise sit above the 1.0 mg L⁻¹ lower bound).
  • Zn: detected in five of eleven samples at 0.047–0.493 mg L⁻¹; six samples <0.002 mg L⁻¹; all reported values well below the WHO 5.00 mg L⁻¹ ceiling.

Estimated Daily Intake (Table 2, p. 2, mg L⁻¹ as reported by source)

SamplePbCdFeZn
D10.1080.0010.2850.064
D20.0580.0010.3560.001
D30.0290.0010.0600.001
D40.0290.0010.3610.001
D50.0070.0010.0100.001
D60.0650.0010.0890.053
D70.0510.0010.6470.001
D80.0150.0010.0440.001
D90.0290.0010.1110.018
D100.0580.0010.4980.193
D110.1300.0010.7260.130
WHO standard3.6 µg/day/kg1 µg/day/kg20.5 mg/day11 mg/day

EDI formula reported by the source: EDI = Cm × Cf × Df / Bw, where Cm = metal concentration, Cf = conversion factor (0.085), Df = daily intake of drinks (30 cL), Bw = average body weight (65 kg).

Chronic Daily Intake (Table 3, p. 3, mg L⁻¹ as reported by source)

SamplePbCdFeZn
D10.0085.70E-050.0220.005
D20.0045.70E-050.0270.000
D30.0025.70E-050.0050.000
D40.0025.70E-050.0280.000
D50.0015.70E-050.0010.000
D60.0055.70E-050.0070.004
D70.0045.70E-050.0500.000
D80.0015.70E-050.0030.000
D90.0025.70E-050.0080.001
D100.0045.70E-050.0380.015
D110.0105.70E-050.0560.010

CDI formula reported by the source: CDI = Cm × EDI × EFi × IR / Bw × AT, where ED = exposure duration (24 y), EFi = exposure frequency (365 d/y), IR = intake rate (0.03 kg/person/day), AT = average time (365 d × 24 y = 8,760).

Target Hazard Quotient (Table 4, p. 3)

SamplePbCdFeZn
D10.2291.1E-013.1430.0167
D20.1141.1E-013.8570
D30.0571.1E-010.7140
D40.0571.1E-014.0000
D50.0291.1E-010.1430
D60.1431.1E-011.0000.013
D70.1141.1E-017.1430
D80.0291.1E-010.4290
D90.0571.1E-011.1430.003
D100.1141.1E-015.4290.05
D110.2861.1E-018.0000.033

THQ formula reported by the source: THQ = CDI / RfD; CDI = Chronic Daily Intake, RfD = Reference Oral Dose.

Per-analyte THQ ranges: Pb 0.029–0.286 (eleven of eleven THQ <1); Cd uniformly 0.11 (1.1 × 10⁻¹) across all samples (computed from the censored Cd <0.002 mg L⁻¹ measurement); Fe 0.143–8.000 (eight of eleven samples Fe THQ ≥1, namely D1, D2, D4, D6, D7, D9, D10, and D11); Zn 0–0.0167.

Regulatory and comparator anchors cited by the authors

  • WHO permissible limits (Table 1, p. 2): Pb 0.01 mg L⁻¹, Cd 0.003 mg L⁻¹, Fe 1.0–3.0 mg L⁻¹, Zn 5.00 mg L⁻¹.
  • EPA Reference Oral Doses (Table 1, p. 2): Pb 3.5 × 10⁻³, Cd 5 × 10⁻⁴, Fe 7 × 10⁻³, Zn 3 × 10⁻¹ mg/kg/day.
  • WHO daily-intake standards (Table 2, p. 2): Pb 3.6 µg/day/kg, Cd 1 µg/day/kg, Fe 20.5 mg/day, Zn 11 mg/day.
  • The source cross-references a prior Southwest-Nigeria energy-drinks study (Bunu et al. 2023, Pharmacology and Toxicology of Natural Medicines, the source’s [24]) which the present authors report found Mg, Zn, Pb, arsenic (As), and aluminum (Al) above recommended concentrations in some samples.

Methods (brief)

Eleven energy-drink samples (labelled D1–D11) were purchased in no particular order from supermarkets in Amassoma and Yenagoa, Bayelsa State, Nigeria. The source names eleven commercial brands in the methods inventory; this wiki page does not reproduce those brand identifiers because the source does not attach specific brand identities to the D1–D11 sample labels (see Brand firewall note in Verification notes). Glassware was decontaminated by 24-hour soak in 10% v/v nitric acid solution followed by purified-water rinse, dust-free air-drying, and storage.

Sample digestion followed the 2002 American standard test method described by Bray et al. 2004 (the source’s reference [17]). About 20 mL of sample plus 10 mL of nitric acid were transferred into a beaker and heated at 120–150 °C on a heating mantle in a fume cupboard, with periodic HNO₃ addition to prevent dryness. After approximately 40 minutes, 2 mL of perchloric acid (HClO₄) was added and digestion continued until a clear solution was obtained. After cooling, the digestate was transferred to a 25 mL volumetric flask and made up to volume with distilled water. A parallel procedure (per the source’s text, p. 1–2) used 50 mL of well-mixed sample with 4 mL concentrated HNO₃ and 2 mL HClO₄, evaporated near dryness, refluxed on a hot plate until a light clear residue was obtained, treated with an additional 2 mL HNO₃, filtered to remove insoluble materials, brought to 25 mL with distilled water, and stored in a 125 mL polypropylene bottle prior to AAS aspiration. The wiki page records both digestion descriptions as the source presents them; the source does not explain why two parallel digestion procedures are described or which one produced the values reported in Table 1.

Metal concentrations were quantified using an Atomic Absorption Spectrometer, Model D1971/4691. The instrument was described as a “solar thermo elemental atomic absorption spectrometer” in the Table 1 header. The source does not specify whether flame or graphite-furnace AAS was used, does not specify wavelengths for each analyte, does not report instrument limits of detection or limits of quantification, does not report certified-reference-material recoveries or analytical blank-correction details, and does not specify whether each sample was run as a single measurement or in replicate. Data analysis used “an Excel spreadsheet, 2016”.

The Cadmium column reports every sample as “<0.002 mg L⁻¹”; the Zinc column reports six samples (D2, D3, D4, D5, D7, D8) at the same “<0.002 mg L⁻¹”; and the control (deionized water) sample reports “<0.009 mg L⁻¹” for lead. These values are treated as analyte-specific reporting floors for the present study.

EDI was computed per sample as Cm × 0.085 × 0.30 / 65, with Cm in mg L⁻¹, the conversion factor 0.085 unitless, daily-drink-intake volume 30 cL (0.30 L), and body weight 65 kg (Table 2 footnote, p. 2). CDI was computed per sample as Cm × EDI × EFi × IR / (Bw × AT), with ED = 24 y, EFi = 365 d/y, IR = 0.03 kg/person/day, and AT = 8,760 d (Table 3 footnote, p. 3). THQ was computed per sample as CDI/RfD using the EPA Reference Oral Doses reported in Table 1 (Table 4 footnote, p. 3).

No metal speciation was performed: lead (recorded as “Pd” in the source), cadmium, iron, and zinc are reported as total elemental concentrations.

Evidence Fitness

This source contributes direct primary occurrence values for finished energy drinks sold in two Bayelsa State, Nigeria markets. The principal limitations bearing on pooling eligibility and synthesis weight are:

(i) Small sample size and no declared replicate structure. Eleven samples are reported, but the source does not state whether each tabulated value is a single measurement, a duplicate mean, or a triplicate mean. This is adequate for an exploratory market-screening report but limits inference to the broader Nigerian energy-drinks population.

(ii) No declared analytical limit of detection or quantification. The instrument-LOD floor is inferred from the <0.002 mg L⁻¹ entries in the Cd column and from the <0.009 mg L⁻¹ entry in the deionized-water control for Pb, neither of which the source explicitly identifies as the LOD. The lack of declared LOD/LOQ and the lack of certified-reference-material recovery data prevent independent verification of analytical quality control.

(iii) No certified reference material or recovery data reported. The Bray et al. 2004 digestion is referenced but no spike-recovery, CRM (e.g., NRCC, NIST), or method-blank data are presented.

(iv) No metal speciation. Inorganic vs total chromium (Cr), methylmercury (MeHg) vs total mercury (Hg), inorganic arsenic (iAs) vs total arsenic (tAs) distinctions are not applicable to the present analyte panel (Pb, Cd, Fe, Zn are routinely reported as total elemental). The chromium, mercury, arsenic, aluminum, tin, nickel, antimony, and uranium panels were not measured.

(v) EDI/CDI/THQ computations report values not arithmetically reproducible from the stated formulas. Applying the EDI formula in the Table 2 footnote (EDI = Cm × Cf × Df / Bw with Cf=0.085, Df=0.30, Bw=65) to D1’s Pb concentration of 0.276 mg L⁻¹ yields 1.08 × 10⁻⁴, not the 0.108 reported in Table 2 for D1. The reported value is approximately 1,000× the formula’s output; a unit-basis or scaling factor not stated in the source’s footnote appears to have been applied. The Cd EDI column reports a uniform 0.001 mg L⁻¹ for all eleven samples despite all eleven Cd concentrations being censored at <0.002 mg L⁻¹ — i.e., the source has propagated a single below-detection value through the EDI computation without flagging the censoring. The CDI and THQ tables share the same internal-arithmetic anomaly. These downstream-computation tables should not be relied upon for pool-eligible exposure or risk inputs without re-derivation from the Table 1 concentrations using a stated, internally consistent formula. The Table 1 raw concentration values are recorded here as the authoritative dataset.

(vi) Paper-internal numerical inconsistency between the abstract/discussion and Table 1 for Pb. The Discussion (p. 3) states “The concentration of Lead for all the samples of energy drinks was between 0.018 and 0.276 mg L⁻¹” but Table 1 reports D11 at 0.332 mg L⁻¹, above 0.276. The Table 1 figures are recorded as the authoritative dataset on the present page.

(vii) Paper-internal numerical inconsistency between the abstract/discussion and Table 3 for Fe CDI. The Discussion (p. 3) and abstract both state Fe CDI ranges 0.001 to 0.050, but Table 3 reports D11 Fe CDI at 0.056. The Table 3 figures are recorded as the authoritative dataset.

(viii) Paper-internal element-symbol typographical error. The source uses “Pd” (the symbol for palladium) throughout to denote lead. The associated WHO 0.01 mg L⁻¹ permissible limit and 3.5 × 10⁻³ EPA RfD are the lead values; palladium is not a routine AAS analyte at the cited concentrations in beverages. The present wiki page records the analyte as lead (Pb).

(ix) Conclusion characterizes the THQ result as “no carcinogenic health potential risks” despite every sample exceeding the WHO Pb permissible limit. The source’s conclusion is a non-carcinogenic risk statement only — THQ measures non-carcinogenic hazard, not carcinogenic risk — and does not address that every sample exceeds the cited WHO 0.01 mg L⁻¹ Pb compliance ceiling by a factor of 1.8 to 33. The wiki records the THQ values as reported and the WHO-exceedance pattern as reported, without reproducing the conclusion’s framing.

Evidence tier set to C. The source is primary research, peer-reviewed (International Journal of Chemistry Research, Innovare Academic Sciences, Vol 7, Issue 4, 2023), but with the methodological caveats above (no declared replicate structure, no declared LOD/LOQ, no CRM recovery data, internal-arithmetic anomalies, internal-numerics inconsistencies between body text and tables, and a paper-wide element-symbol typographical error). Tier-B would require declared replicate structure, declared LOD/LOQ, ICP-MS or graphite-furnace AAS for trace analytes, CRM-anchored QC, and reconciled internal numerics. The Table 1 raw concentrations are pool-considerable for Pb, Fe, and Zn at C-tier weight with explicit notation of the (i)–(ix) caveats; the downstream EDI/CDI/THQ tables are not pool-eligible as computed.

Implications

  • Certification: contributes direct primary occurrence values for the sports-energy-drinks HMTc category (Category 5 row 9), specifically for the Nigerian retail market. The Pb column reports universal exceedance against the WHO 0.01 mg L⁻¹ compliance ceiling (eleven of eleven samples), with a maximum of 0.332 mg L⁻¹ at D11. The Cd column is uniformly below the 0.002 mg L⁻¹ reporting floor and contributes left-censored data only. The Fe and Zn columns sit below their WHO ceilings across the panel. These values complement the Polish-market ICP-MS data (Czarnek et al. 2024, this wiki), the Jordanian-market flame-AAS data (Al-Sayyed et al. 2024, this wiki), and the Nigerian-market data (Babayo et al. 2026, this wiki, Bauchi State). The Bunu Pb range 0.018–0.332 mg L⁻¹ for Bayelsa State, when juxtaposed against the Babayo Bauchi-State distribution, will be considered by the synthesis pass for the Nigerian-energy-drinks occurrence picture as a whole.
  • Courses: useful as a teaching reference for (1) the limitations of single-laboratory AAS screening without declared LOD/LOQ or CRM recovery for trace metals in beverages; (2) the importance of internal-consistency cross-checks between abstract, discussion, and tabulated values during peer review; (3) the distinction between non-carcinogenic hazard (THQ) and regulatory-compliance ceiling (WHO permissible limit) — a uniform THQ <1 does not negate a uniform WHO-ceiling exceedance for a regulated heavy metal; (4) the propagation of below-detection censored values through downstream exposure and risk computations without flagging the censoring.
  • App: contributes Nigerian-market occurrence values for the sports/energy-drinks product class. Per-brand identities are not disclosed by the source (samples are labelled D1–D11 with brand identities listed only as a collective inventory in the methods); no brand-firewall handling was required on the values side.
  • Discovery: the source’s reference list includes a preceding Bunu-led Southwest-Nigeria energy-drinks study (Pharmacology and Toxicology of Natural Medicines, 2023, the source’s [24]) reported to find Mg, Zn, Pb, As, and Al above recommended concentrations in some samples — a candidate companion source for the Nigerian-energy-drinks occurrence picture, and an additional Aendo et al. 2019 (Thailand, the source’s [23]) carcinogenic and non-carcinogenic risk assessment of heavy metals in duck eggs and meat for cross-product comparison.

Provenance notes

Open-access article distributed under CC BY 4.0 (license declaration on p. 1 of the PDF: ”© 2023 The Authors. Published by Innovare Academic Sciences Pvt Ltd. This is an open access article under the CC BY license (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/)”). Received 18 August 2023; revised and accepted 22 September 2023; published in International Journal of Chemistry Research, Volume 7, Issue 4, 2023, pp. 1–4. DOI: 10.22159/ijcr.2023v7i4.224. Online ISSN: 0976-5689. Journal homepage: https://ijcr.info/index.php/journal. Corresponding author: Samuel J. Bunu (pharmsamuelbunu@gmail.com). Affiliations: Department of Pharmaceutical and Medicinal Chemistry, Faculty of Pharmacy, Niger Delta University, Wilberforce Island, Bayelsa, Nigeria (Bunu, George, Ebeshi); Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Bayelsa Medical University P.M.B. 178 Imgbi Road, Yenagoa, Bayelsa, Nigeria (Alfred-Ugbenbo). Acknowledgement: the Head and staff of the Department of Pharmaceutical and Medicinal Chemistry, Faculty of Pharmacy, Niger Delta University, Wilberforce Island, Bayelsa State, Nigeria. Conflict of interest: none declared. Accessed via the Manual Fetch Discovery autopilot.

Update history

The five most recent substantive edits to this page, classified major (evidence or structure moved), correction (a published value or statement was wrong and has been fixed), or minor (narrative rewritten without changing the underlying evidence). Each description is derived from what the edit did to this page; the linked commit is the authoritative record, routine regeneration passes are excluded, and the full version history lives in git.

CommitDateChangeDescription
b01ec52c312026-08-04major1 section added; narrative text revised
3a67e130712026-08-02minorNarrative text revised
3171d069e32026-08-02major1 section added
90a2f9a38e2026-07-30major1 section added and 1 removed; narrative text revised
eaa8eeeedf2026-07-27major1 section added and 1 removed