Skip to content
Heavy Metal Index

CLP Insights: 2024-25 Protein Powder Category Report (Protein Study 2.0)

Summary

This is a Clean Label Project category insights report (Protein Study 2.0) presenting a market-wide screen of heavy metals and bisphenols in 160 protein powder products drawn from 70 top-selling US brands, representing approximately 83% of the US protein supplement market. The report aggregates 35,862 individual analyses across six industrial-chemical panels run at Ellipse Analytics, with heavy metals (As, cadmium (Cd), lead (Pb), Hg) measured by ICP-MS and bisphenols (BPA, BPS) and pesticides measured by LC-MS/MS. Findings are presented as cohort-level exceedance percentages against the California Proposition 65 Safe Harbor reference for lead (Pb MADL = 0.5 µg/day), not as per-product or per-serving concentration tables. The headline pattern: 47% of all products exceeded at least one federal or state regulatory level for lead and 21% exceeded twice the Prop 65 Pb reference; plant-based powders had the highest exceedance rate at 77%, certified-organic powders ran at 79% (with 41% exceeding twice the Prop 65 reference), and chocolate-flavored powders at 65% (29% over 2× Prop 65). Whey-based and collagen-based powders ran lower, at 28% and 26% respectively, and the report’s own narrative recommends “whey or collagen based protein powders that are not chocolate flavored” as the lowest-lead pattern in the cohort. Cadmium is described in multiplicative terms: organic averaged twice the cadmium of non-organic, plant-based averaged five times the cadmium of whey, and chocolate-flavored averaged 110× the cadmium of vanilla-flavored. Bisphenols are essentially gone from the cohort — BPA or BPS was detected in only 3 of 160 products, against 55% of products in Clean Label Project’s earlier 2018 protein study. The report is non-peer-reviewed industry/advocacy material, presents only cohort-level percentages without per-product concentration tables or summary statistics on the underlying distributions, and is best treated as a B-tier exceedance-pattern anchor for the US protein-powder market that complements (rather than replaces) the per-product datasets in A human health risk assessment of heavy metal ingestion among consumers of protein powder supplements and The True Content and Faces Behind America's Best-Selling Collagen: 2020 Collagen Heavy Metals Study.

Key numbers

Source reports cohort-level exceedance percentages against the California Proposition 65 Safe Harbor reference for lead, not per-product concentrations or summary statistics. All percentages below are the proportion of products in each sub-cohort whose lead loading exceeded the stated Prop 65 reference. Denominators for sub-cohort splits (whey, plant-based, collagen, organic, chocolate) are not disclosed.

Cohort-level lead exceedance against California Prop 65 (pages 3, 5):

Sub-cohort% over Prop 65 (Pb)% over 2× Prop 65 (Pb)
All products (n=160)47%21%
Plant-based protein powders77%not separately reported
Whey protein powders28%not separately reported
Collagen protein powders26%not separately reported
Organic protein powders79%41%
Chocolate-flavored protein powders65%29%

Cross-cohort multiplicative findings (page 2 executive summary and page 6 narrative):

  • Certified-organic products averaged three times the lead and twice the cadmium of non-organic products in the cohort.
  • Plant-based powders averaged three times the lead and five times the cadmium of whey-based powders.
  • Chocolate-flavored powders averaged four times the lead and 110 times the cadmium of vanilla-flavored powders.

Bisphenols (page 6):

  • BPA or BPS detected in 3 of 160 products in this 2024-25 study, versus 55% of products in Clean Label Project’s prior 2018 protein-powder study. Source attributes the change to packaging-supply-chain reformulation.

Context for the comparison ladders. The source frames all heavy-metal exceedances as multiples of the California Proposition 65 Safe Harbor reference for lead. The OEHHA Proposition 65 Pb MADL (oral reproductive endpoint) that those percentages back-derive against is 0.5 µg/day; the 2× Prop 65 multiplier therefore corresponds to a 1.0 µg Pb/day exposure on the source’s serving-size basis. The Pb MADL numeric is imported here from OEHHA’s published Safe Harbor list, not from the report’s own text. The report does not state which serving size or exposure assumption it used to translate measured concentrations into daily Pb exposures, and does not name the Prop 65 reference values for arsenic, cadmium, or mercury. No per-product µg/serving values, no concentration ranges, no detection rates, and no central-tendency statistics (mean, median, percentile values) are disclosed in the public report — only the exceedance percentages above and the multiplicative cross-cohort statements.

Methods (brief)

Clean Label Project procured 160 protein powder products from 70 brands sourced from Nielsen and Amazon best-seller listings, supplemented with top products from the natural and organic marketplace, and forwarded them to Ellipse Analytics, an independent analytical chemistry laboratory. Six industrial-chemical panels were run, including heavy metals and bisphenols. Heavy metals (arsenic, cadmium, lead, and mercury) were measured by Inductively Coupled Plasma Mass Spectrometry (ICP-MS). Bisphenols (BPA, BPS) and pesticides were measured by Liquid Chromatography–Tandem Mass Spectrometry (LC-MS/MS). The report cites 35,862 individual analyses across 258 chemicals/heavy metals as the underlying dataset volume. No metal speciation is described; arsenic and mercury are total elemental measurements. The report does not disclose level of quantification, sample-prep digestion method, lab-blank or spike-recovery protocols, replicate-sample structure, or per-product analytical detail. Serving-size denominators used to convert concentrations into per-serving Pb exposures (the basis for all Prop 65 exceedance percentages) are not stated.

Implications

  • This is the Index’s market-screen exceedance-pattern anchor for the US protein-powder category in 2024-25, complementing the per-product peer-reviewed risk assessment in A human health risk assessment of heavy metal ingestion among consumers of protein powder supplements (which re-analyzed the prior Clean Label Project 2018 cohort) and the per-serving collagen-supplement market screen in The True Content and Faces Behind America's Best-Selling Collagen: 2020 Collagen Heavy Metals Study. All three support the Ingredient class — protein/collagen powders product page.
  • Lead is the load-bearing analyte in this source. 47% of the 160-product cohort exceeded the California Prop 65 Pb MADL on a per-serving basis, and 21% exceeded twice that reference. The exceedance pattern is sharply stratified by sub-cohort: plant-based (77%), organic (79%), and chocolate-flavored (65%) sit at the top; whey (28%) and collagen (26%) sit at the bottom.
  • The plant-based vs whey gradient, the organic vs non-organic gradient, and the chocolate vs vanilla gradient all point in the same direction (plant + organic + chocolate = higher Pb and Cd), consistent with soil-uptake and cocoa-input mechanisms reported elsewhere in the cocoa and plant-based-protein literature.
  • Cadmium is described only multiplicatively here (organic 2× non-organic, plant-based 5× whey, chocolate 110× vanilla), without underlying concentrations. The chocolate-vs-vanilla cadmium ratio in particular is large and should be treated as cohort-level signal rather than as a per-product quantitative finding until corroborated by sources reporting actual concentrations.
  • Bisphenol contamination has effectively disappeared from this product category between Clean Label Project’s 2018 cohort (55% of products with detectable BPA/BPS) and the 2024-25 cohort (3 of 160 products); this is one of the few categories in HMI where industry-wide packaging reformulation has produced a measurable, near-complete drop in a contaminant of concern.
  • Evidence fitness caveat: non-peer-reviewed industry/advocacy report, accredited-lab ICP-MS but no per-product values, no concentration distribution, no central-tendency statistics, no detection-rate denominators for sub-cohort splits, no QA/QC disclosure, no serving-size or exposure-conversion methodology disclosed. Treat as a B-tier exceedance-pattern anchor for the 2024-25 US protein-powder market. Do not synthesize per-product concentration claims from this source; the underlying per-product data is held by Clean Label Project and not published in the report.

Update history

The five most recent substantive edits to this page, classified major (evidence or structure moved), correction (a published value or statement was wrong and has been fixed), or minor (narrative rewritten without changing the underlying evidence). Each description is derived from what the edit did to this page; the linked commit is the authoritative record, routine regeneration passes are excluded, and the full version history lives in git.

CommitDateChangeDescription
90a2f9a38e2026-07-30major1 section added and 1 removed; narrative text revised
eaa8eeeedf2026-07-27major1 section added
50de6ab2172026-07-27minorNarrative text revised
af9c97a5092026-06-23major1 section added
87bea273332026-06-08major2 sources added; 6 sections added; narrative text revised