Overview
Liang and Yang conducted a 40-day pot experiment on annual Olea europaea L. cv. ‘Foao’ cutting seedlings in Xichang, Sichuan, exposing them to four combined Cu/Zn soil-spike treatments and a zero-dose control to characterise the antioxidant-system response to the two heavy metals jointly. Foliar catalase (CAT), peroxidase (POD), superoxide dismutase (SOD), malondialdehyde (MDA), and soluble protein were measured at the end of the treatment period. The study is a phytotoxicity/stress-tolerance experiment using applied-soil concentrations far above ambient agricultural exposures; it does not measure Cu, Zn, or any other metal concentration in olive fruit, olive oil, or any consumable matrix. Its contribution to the Heavy Metal Index corpus is mechanistic context for how the olive plant responds to high Cu/Zn co-exposure at the leaf-tissue level, not a contamination data point for olive-derived foods.
Key numbers
Soil-spike design (Table 1, p. 2). Five treatments, each in triplicate measurement on n=10 pots:
- CK (control): Zn²⁺ 0 mg/L; Cu²⁺ 0 mg/L
- A: Zn²⁺ 150 mg/L; Cu²⁺ 50 mg/L
- B: Zn²⁺ 250 mg/L; Cu²⁺ 150 mg/L
- C: Zn²⁺ 300 mg/L; Cu²⁺ 250 mg/L
- D: Zn²⁺ 325 mg/L; Cu²⁺ 350 mg/L
These are soil-applied concentrations of the spike solutions, not measured tissue concentrations. Treatment duration: 40 days.
Catalase (CAT) activity in olive leaves (Table 2, p. 3; units not stated in source — likely uranium (U)/g FW or U/mg protein, mean±SD, p<0.05 significance letters in last column):
- CK: 116.667 ± 4.226 (d)
- A: 76.167 ± 4.475 (e) — 34% decrease vs CK at the lowest Cu/Zn dose
- B: 154.667 ± 9.208 (c) — 32.6% increase vs CK
- C: 195.000 ± 8.322 (b) — 67.1% increase vs CK
- D: 236.500 ± 11.056 (a) — 103.06% increase vs CK at the highest Cu/Zn dose
Peroxidase (POD) activity in olive leaves (Table 3, p. 4):
- CK: 47.330 ± 1.333 (c)
- A: 26.000 ± 3.055 (d) — 45.38% decrease vs CK
- B: 53.330 ± 3.528 (c) — 12.7% increase vs CK
- C: 92.670 ± 3.712 (b) — 95.8% increase vs CK
- D: 171.330 ± 5.812 (a) — 262% increase vs CK (3.62× control; paper text reports the maximum-vs-minimum increase as 56.57% which appears to refer to a different comparison, see Verification notes)
Superoxide dismutase (SOD) activity in olive leaves (Table 4, p. 4):
- CK: 117.176 ± 1.334 (c)
- A: 173.277 ± 1.763 (a) — 47.9% increase vs CK (SOD peak)
- B: 146.803 ± 5.414 (b) — 25.3% increase vs CK
- C: 91.076 ± 4.070 (d) — 22.3% decrease vs CK
- D: 46.390 ± 2.098 (e) — 60.4% decrease vs CK at the highest Cu/Zn dose
Malondialdehyde (MDA), a lipid peroxidation marker, in olive leaves (Table 5, p. 5; units not stated in source):
- CK: 0.092 ± 0.005 (d)
- A: 0.115 ± 0.009 (d) — 25% increase vs CK
- B: 0.151 ± 0.010 (c) — 64.13% increase vs CK
- C: 0.255 ± 0.012 (b) — 177.17% increase vs CK
- D: 0.367 ± 0.012 (a) — 298.91% increase vs CK (3.99× control)
Soluble protein in olive leaves (Table 6, p. 5):
- CK: 0.069 ± 0.000 (d)
- A: 0.076 ± 0.001 (c) — 10.14% increase
- B: 0.083 ± 0.004 (b) — 20.29% increase
- C: 0.089 ± 0.000 (b) — 28.99% increase
- D: 0.104 ± 0.001 (a) — 50.72% increase vs CK
Trend summary across the four-dose Cu/Zn gradient:
- CAT: U-shape — drops at the lowest spike, then climbs monotonically to ~2× control at the highest spike.
- POD: U-shape — drops at the lowest spike, then climbs monotonically to ~3.6× control at the highest spike.
- SOD: inverted U-shape — rises at low spike, peaks at A, then declines steeply to <0.4× control at the highest spike.
- MDA: monotonic increase from CK to D (~4× control).
- Soluble protein: monotonic increase from CK to D (+50.7%).
Methods
Plant material: annual Olea europaea L. cv. ‘Foao’ cutting seedlings (height ~55-65 cm), leaves originally collected in 2016 from Lizhou Town, Xichang City. 50 pots (3 kg soil each), assigned to 5 treatments × 10 replicates.
Experimental site and timing: Lizhou Town, Xichang City, Sichuan, September-December 2016.
Heavy metal stress treatment: ZnSO₄·7H₂O and CuSO₄·7H₂O solutions applied to the soil at the four dose combinations in Table 1. (The methods text also mentions FeSO₄·7H₂O in the reagent list and the introduction repeatedly refers to “Cu and Zn” stress, with isolated text passages erroneously naming “Fe” instead of “Cu” — see Verification notes inconsistency 1.) Treatment duration: 40 days.
Tissue preparation: ~0.3 g leaf tissue per sample, ground in pre-cooled mortar with 2 mL pH 7.8 phosphate buffer and a small amount of quartz sand into a homogenate; rinsed up to 6 mL final volume with pH 7.8 PBS; centrifuged at 15,000 g for 10 min at 4 °C; supernatant stored on ice in the dark until assay.
Enzyme and biochemistry assays:
- CAT: hydrogen peroxide (H₂O₂) decomposition method.
- POD: guaiacol method.
- SOD: nitroblue tetrazolium (NBT) photoreduction method (with L-methionine and riboflavin as system components per the reagent list).
- MDA: thiobarbituric acid (TBA) method (paper text says “arsenic barbituric acid (TBA)” — this appears to be a translation artefact for thiobarbituric acid).
- Soluble protein: Coomassie Brilliant Blue staining (Bradford-style).
Soluble sugar is mentioned in the methods reagent list and Determination Method paragraph but not reported in the Results section.
Instrumentation: enzyme meter (microplate/UV reader), HH-8 digital thermostat water bath, centrifuge, spectrophotometer. Vendor models not specified.
Statistics: mean ± SD across 3 measurement repetitions; Microsoft Excel for descriptive statistics; IBM SPSS Statistics v19 for ANOVA / significance testing; significance lettering at p<0.05 (same-letter treatments not significantly different).
Analytical scope: the paper measures leaf-tissue antioxidant-system biomarkers (CAT, POD, SOD, MDA, soluble protein) under combined Cu²⁺/Zn²⁺ soil exposure. It does not measure Cu or Zn concentrations in olive leaves, olive fruit, or olive oil, and it does not measure any other heavy metal. No speciation is performed (the spiking compounds are CuSO₄ and ZnSO₄, so the bioavailable form is Cu²⁺ and Zn²⁺). The study has no consumer-exposure component.
Implications
Certification: Not relevant to certification-threshold setting. The paper does not produce contamination data in olive or olive oil that could be pooled into a percentile distribution for HMTc rows. It is mechanistic phytotoxicity context for the olive crop, not a measurement of food-system contamination.
Courses: Usable as a pedagogical example of the inverted-U (hormesis-like) response of SOD activity to heavy-metal stress in plants and of the monotonic increase of MDA (membrane lipid peroxidation) and soluble protein (osmotic-adjustment response) under combined Cu/Zn exposure. The CAT/POD U-shape is also a recurring pattern in plant heavy-metal stress physiology.
App: Not relevant to consumer-app contamination-likelihood scoring for foods. The applied soil concentrations (50-350 mg/L Cu²⁺ and 150-325 mg/L Zn²⁺ in solution form) are orders of magnitude above ambient agricultural soils.
Speciation: Cu²⁺ and Zn²⁺ as sulfate-salt soil spikes. No fractionation or speciation analysis.
Related evidence
Update history
No substantive edit history is available in this build. The full commit record is available in git.