Skip to content
Heavy Metal Index

California Proposition 65 Compliance Requirements

Overview

This 11-page HSN (Home Shopping Network) Quality Assurance specification, issued 4 December 2019 and revised 7 April 2021, defines the acceptance criteria HSN applied to brands and suppliers seeking to sell consumer goods through the HSN retail channel under California Proposition 65 and the parallel federal CPSIA / CPSC / FDA frameworks. The specification is organised by product category — outerwear and apparel trim; belts, footwear, gloves, hats and scarves; handbags, purses, clutches, totes, wallets, cosmetics and toiletries bags; luggage, luggage tags, ID cases, eyeglass cases, key chains, mobile-device covers, journals, and books; ceramic tableware; leaded crystal; jewelry and watches — and for each category restates the operative total-content (ppm) or extractable-content (ppm) limit on lead, cadmium, and phthalates that HSN QA used to accept or reject supplier-submitted test reports. The food-contact and children’s-product categories (ceramic tableware, leaded crystal, children’s jewelry) are within HMI scope and are documented in detail in Key numbers; the apparel, footwear, handbag, luggage, and adult-jewelry categories are summarised here as context for the document’s overall structure but their numerical limits are outside HMI’s heavy-metals food-and-supply-chain remit.

Key numbers

Ceramic tableware — extractable lead and cadmium limits — page 7 Table

Two compliance regimes are listed side-by-side. The US FDA limits are the regulatory floor; products that fail the FDA limits are rejected by HSN QA and cannot be sold. The California Prop 65 limits are tighter; products that meet the FDA limits but fail the Prop 65 limits may be sold only with a Prop 65 warning label on each selling unit.

Vessel classLead — US FDA (ppm)Lead — Prop 65 (ppm)Cadmium — US FDA (ppm)Cadmium — Prop 65 (ppm)
Flatware (depth < 25 mm)3.00.2260.503.164
Small hollowware (< 1.1 L)2.00.1000.500.189
Large hollowware (> 1.1 L)1.00.1000.250.049
Cups and mugs0.50.1000.500.189
Pitchers (> 1.1 L)0.50.1000.500.049
Silver-plated hollowware (adult use)7NA0.25NA
Silver-plated hollowware (infant / child use)0.5NA0.25NA

Footnote in the document: “All colors/patterns AND vessel types must be represented in the test data (i.e. if a set includes coffee cups and dessert plates, the testing must be performed for the ‘cups and mugs’, and ‘flatware’ categories for each color).” The required Prop 65 warning when the FDA limits are met but the Prop 65 limits are exceeded is: “Use of this tableware will expose you to [insert lead or cadmium as appropriate], a chemical known to the State of California to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm.”

Leaded crystal — Prop 65 warning required, no numerical limit — page 7

The document requires that “all leaded crystal items MUST include the required California Prop 65 Warning statement with each selling unit,” with the prescribed warning text: “Consuming foods or beverages that have been kept or served in leaded crystal products or handling products made of leaded crystal will expose you to lead — a chemical known to the State of California to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm.” No numerical extractable-lead threshold is specified for leaded crystal; the Prop 65 warning is the operative requirement.

Jewelry and watches — adult-product total lead (Pb) and cadmium (Cd) limits — page 8 Table

Adult-compliance limits apply across all components of an adult jewelry or watch item:

Part of jewelryLead — limitCadmium — limit
Electroplated metal0.05 % (500 ppm)0.03 % (300 ppm)
Un-plated metal0.05 % (500 ppm)0.03 % (300 ppm)
Plastic, acrylic, rubber, PVC0.02 % (200 ppm)0.03 % (300 ppm)
Dyes, surface coatings (paint, enamel, epoxy) — CPSC 16 CFR 1303.20.05 % (500 ppm)0.0075 % (75 ppm)
All other components0.06 % (600 ppm)0.03 % (300 ppm)

The adult-jewelry limits are stated as conforming to California SB 647 (2009), cross-referenced in the document as https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billTextClient.xhtml?bill_id=201920200SB647&search_keywords=jewelry. “Component” is defined as “any part of jewelry,” and “Jewelry” is defined per the SB 647 link.

Children’s jewelry (under 15 years old) — total Pb and Cd limits — page 8 Table

Children’s-jewelry limits are tighter than adult limits and apply per accessible component:

ComponentLead — limitCadmium — limit
Each accessible component (by weight)≤ 100 ppm≤ 300 ppm
Surface coating (by weight)≤ 90 ppm≤ 75 ppm

Inaccessibility test, as quoted from the document: “A component is inaccessible if it is not physically exposed by reason of a sealed covering or casing and does not become physically exposed through reasonably foreseeable use and abuse of the product, including swallowing, mouthing, breaking, or other children’s activities, and the aging of the product. For purposes of this regulation, paint, coatings, or electroplating do not render substrate material inaccessible to a child.” Additional labelling rule: “Children’s Jewelry Items containing > 40 ppm and ≤ 90 ppm lead must be labeled with the following warning statement: ‘WARNING: CONTAINS LEAD. MAY BE HARMFUL IF EATEN OR CHEWED. MAY GENERATE DUST CONTAINING LEAD.‘” A CPSIA Certificate of Conformity / Children’s Product Certificate is required to accompany the testing.

Outerwear and apparel trim, belts, footwear, gloves, hats, scarves, handbags, purses, clutches, totes, wallets, cosmetics/toiletries bags, luggage and accessories — total Pb in components — pages 4–6 Tables

These categories are outside HMI’s heavy-metals food-and-supply-chain remit but are documented here as context for the overall structure of the HSN specification. Values are total lead in the indicated component, in ppm by weight:

  • Paint or surface coatings on accessible components (per CPSC 16 CFR § 1303.2): ≤ 90 ppm Pb.
  • Accessible leather: ≤ 300 ppm Pb.
  • Polyvinyl chloride (PVC): ≤ 200 ppm Pb.
  • All other accessible components (excluding cubic zirconia, glass, or rhinestones): ≤ 300 ppm Pb.
  • For outerwear and apparel trim specifically (page 4), accessible hardware (zippers, snaps, buttons, embellishments) is given as ≤ 300 ppm Pb, without the 90 ppm paint/coating sub-limit (no paint/coating row appears for the outerwear/apparel-trim category).

The companion phthalate limit (DEHP + DBP + BBP, total) across these categories and on PVC or other soft plastics on accessible components is ≤ 1000 ppm total phthalates, outside HMI scope but documented in every category table in the document.

Exempt “non-suspect materials” list — page 9 Table

The document reproduces the CPSC 16 CFR § 1500.91(d) and (e) “non-suspect materials” list of materials that “do not require Prop 65 Lead Testing” provided they have not been treated or adulterated. Categories listed: precious gemstones (diamond, ruby, sapphire, emerald); semiprecious gemstones and minerals (aragonite, bayldonite, boleite, cerusite, crocoite, galena, linarite, mimetite, phosgenite, vanadinite, wulfenite, etc.); cubic zirconia, glass, crystals, rhinestones; natural or cultured pearls; wood (cork, oak, pine); paper and similar materials made from wood or other cellulosic fiber (paper board, chip board); natural fibers dyed or un-dyed (cotton, kapok, flax, linen, jute, ramie hemp, kenaf, bamboo, coir, sisal, silk, wool, alpaca, llama, goat/mohair/cashmere, rabbit/angora, camel, horse, yak, vicuna, qiviut, guanaco); manufactured fibers dyed or un-dyed (rayon, azlon, lyocell, acetate, triacetate, polyester, olefin, nylon, acrylic, modacrylic, aramid, spandex); other plant-derived and animal-derived materials (animal glue, beeswax, seeds, nut shells, flowers, bone, sea shell, coral, amber, feathers, fur); metals and alloys (surgical steel and stainless steels UNS S13800–S66286, EXCEPT stainless steel designated as 303Pb / S30360). The document also notes “Under the terms of the agreement with the CEH [Center for Environmental Health], leather is not an exempt material and is subject to testing” — a Prop 65 enforcement-settlement carve-out.

Testing methods and laboratories — pages 10–11

HSN required CPSC-accredited third-party testing laboratories. For “High Risk and Proprietary Vendors,” only UL or Intertek were accepted. For lead and cadmium testing on non-tableware materials, “destructive testing method using acid to ‘digest’ the component for analysis. The ‘digested’ sample is then analyzed by a testing instrument (spectrophotometer) to detect and measure lead and/or cadmium” — i.e., acid digestion followed by atomic-spectrometry quantification (the document does not specify ICP-MS vs ICP-OES vs AAS). For ceramic-tableware extractable testing, “diluted acid into/onto the vessel/plate to ‘leach’ metals from the material” with the leachate analysed by the same spectrophotometric quantification — consistent with the FDA’s Compliance Policy Guides’ 24-hour 4 % acetic-acid leach procedure for ceramic dinnerware. For phthalate testing, “destructive testing method using solvent to ‘digest’ the component for analysis. The ‘digested’ sample is then analyzed by a testing instrument (gas chromatograph-mass spectrometer (GC-MS)).” Test reports were valid for one calendar year from issue. CPSC accredited-laboratory directory link cited: http://www.cpsc.gov/cgi-bin/labsearch/.

Methods (brief)

This is a retailer-issued compliance specification, not a primary analytical study. No samples were tested by HSN, no LOD/LOQ applies, and no analytical instrumentation was used by HSN itself. The document specifies that third-party testing must be performed by CPSC-accredited laboratories. The document’s own analytical-method statements are deliberately generic (pages 10–11):

  • For lead and cadmium in non-tableware solid components (apparel hardware, leather, PVC, jewelry components, paint and surface coatings): the document states “destructive testing method using acid to ‘digest’ the component for analysis. The ‘digested’ sample is then analyzed by a testing instrument (spectrophotometer) to detect and measure lead and/or cadmium.” The document does not separate ICP-MS, ICP-OES, FAAS, or GFAAS, and does not name specific CPSC Standard Operating Procedures.
  • For extractable lead and cadmium in ceramic tableware: the document states “the testing conducted by the laboratory adds diluted acid into/onto the vessel/plate to ‘leach’ metals from the material. The ‘leachate’ is then analyzed by a testing instrument (spectrophotometer) to detect and measure lead and/or cadmium. The product submitted for testing MUST be a finished sample with all decoration.” The document does not name the leach reagent (acetic acid vs other), the leach duration, the leach temperature, the vessel-filling protocol, or the analytical instrument beyond the generic “spectrophotometer.”
  • For phthalates (DEHP, DBP, BBP) in PVC and other soft-plastic accessible components (outside HMI heavy-metals scope but documented for completeness): “destructive testing method using solvent to ‘digest’ the component for analysis. The ‘digested’ sample is then analyzed by a testing instrument (gas chromatograph-mass spectrometer (GC-MS)), to detect and measure phthalates.” No CPSC SOP code is named.
  • CPSIA Certificate of Conformity / Children’s Product Certificate is required to accompany the lead and cadmium test data on children’s jewelry and watches; the document links the HSN web-document template at https://view.hsn.net/WebDocuments/documents/CPSIA_CertofConformity.docx.
  • Test report validity: one calendar year from the test issue date.
  • CPSC accredited-laboratory directory cited: http://www.cpsc.gov/cgi-bin/labsearch/. “High Risk and Proprietary Vendors” are required to use UL or Intertek specifically.

The document does not address the limit-derivation toxicology, the migration-test design, or the analytical-method development for any of these standards. Suppliers are referred to the underlying CPSC, FDA, and OEHHA documents for primary regulatory text and method detail.

External regulatory context (not stated by the HSN document but provided here to anchor the generic descriptions above against the federal regime they implement): the underlying operative compliance methods for total-Pb in children’s-product solid components are CPSC-CH-E1001-08 (metal substrate) and CPSC-CH-E1002-08 (non-metal substrate), with parallel SOPs for cadmium; the ceramic-tableware extractable test is the US FDA / AOAC 24-hour acetic-acid leach procedure referenced in FDA CPG Sec. 545.450 (lead in ceramics); and the phthalate compliance method is CPSC-CH-C1001-09. These specific method codes, leach-procedure details, and the FDA programme’s flatware-vs-hollowware vessel-filling protocol (acid contact on the upper food-contact surface only for flatware; vessel filled to within 6 mm of the upper rim for hollowware) are NOT stated by the HSN document; they are the established federal methods that HSN’s generic “acid digestion / spectrophotometer” and “diluted acid leach / spectrophotometer” descriptions implement when read against the surrounding federal regulatory framework.

Implications

  • Regulatory baseline (US, ceramic-tableware extractable Pb and Cd, 2019–2021). The HSN specification documents the operative side-by-side comparison between the US FDA Compliance Policy Guide extractable-lead and -cadmium limits (the federal regulatory floor for ceramic tableware sold in interstate commerce) and the California Proposition 65 safe-harbor levels (the operative California limits, tighter than the FDA floor by factors of roughly 5× to 50× for lead and by factors of up to ~10× for cadmium in some categories). Of note: for cadmium in flatware specifically, the Prop 65 safe-harbor (3.164 ppm) is higher than the FDA limit (0.50 ppm), so the FDA limit binds in that one cell — a regulatory non-monotonicity internal to the document’s own table. The HSN document itself does not explain why the Prop 65 cadmium-flatware safe-harbor sits above the FDA floor for this one cell; the underlying regulatory derivation (Prop 65 safe-harbor values are derived from the OEHHA MADL daily-exposure calculation back-translated into a per-piece migration figure that depends on assumed use frequency and serving-piece geometry, while the FDA CPG limit is a fixed extractable-concentration ceiling that does not vary with serving-piece geometry) is external regulatory context provided here to anchor the table’s non-monotonicity, not a claim sourced from the HSN document. For HMI work on the California Proposition 65 — Cadmium Listing and Maximum Allowable Daily Level and California Proposition 65 — Lead and Lead Compounds Listing regulation pages and on the Ceramicware product page, the HSN table is a date-anchored retailer-channel attestation of the operative FDA and Prop 65 numerical floors as a major US TV/online retailer applied them in 2019–2021.

  • Regulatory baseline (US-CA, total Pb and Cd in adult and children’s jewelry, 2019–2021). The HSN specification documents the operative California SB 647 (2009) total-lead and total-cadmium limits on adult and children’s jewelry components. For children’s jewelry, the SB 647 / HSN limits — ≤ 100 ppm Pb in each accessible component, ≤ 90 ppm Pb in surface coating, ≤ 300 ppm Cd in each component, ≤ 75 ppm Cd in surface coating — are tighter than the federal CPSIA Section 101 100 ppm-total-Pb floor for children’s products in general, with the surface-coating Pb limit (90 ppm) matching the federal 16 CFR § 1303 paint/coating limit. The 40 ppm warning-label trigger (“Children’s Jewelry Items containing > 40 ppm and ≤ 90 ppm lead must be labeled with the following warning statement…”) aligns with the SB 647 dust-warning provision. For HMI work on the Children's Jewelry product page and on the Lead and Cadmium metal pages’ regulatory-limits sections, this is the retailer-channel attestation of how the California SB 647 framework was actually enforced through retail QA in the 2019–2021 window.

  • Regulatory baseline (US, leaded crystal, 2019–2021). The HSN specification’s leaded-crystal section confirms that the operative California regulatory requirement for leaded crystal as of 2019 was the Prop 65 warning label (no numerical extractable-Pb threshold; the warning is mandatory regardless of measured release). This documents the historical regulatory posture that distinguishes leaded crystal from ceramic tableware: ceramic-tableware Pb is regulated by FDA-style extractable limits with a Prop 65 tighter floor, while leaded crystal — which is intrinsically high-Pb borosilicate-style glass — is regulated by warning rather than by limit. For HMI work on the Glassware product page, this is the retailer-channel attestation that the 2019–2021 California regulatory regime for leaded crystal was warning-based, not limit-based.

  • Retailer-channel attestation context. HSN is a major US TV-and-online retailer (founded 1982; merged with QVC parent Qurate Retail Group in 2017); its supplier-facing compliance specifications are the operative document a US retail supply chain encountered when bringing ceramic dinnerware, leaded-crystal stemware, and children’s jewelry into the US retail market in 2019–2021. The document’s value to the corpus is as primary evidence of how the underlying regulatory text (Prop 65, FDA CPG 545.450, CPSIA Section 101, SB 647) was operationalised at the retailer-QA / supplier-onboarding layer. For HMTc audit work on product categories that touch ceramic food-contact, leaded crystal, or children’s jewelry, the HSN specification is a date-anchored snapshot of the retail-channel acceptance criteria contemporaneous with the regulatory landscape.

  • App. Not directly relevant to ingredient contamination_profile data because the specification reports no food-matrix occurrence values. Relevant to a future food-contact-screening surface that surfaces the per-jurisdiction regulatory floor for extractable lead and cadmium in ceramic tableware and for total lead and cadmium in children’s jewelry to brand-QA users.

  • Courses. Useful as a retailer-side primary-source for the regulatory-history module covering the 2008–2021 wave of US heavy-metal regulation on children’s products and food-contact goods (CPSIA 2008, California SB 647 2009, FDA CPG 545.450 and 545.400, the Prop 65 safe-harbor lead and cadmium MADLs, and the CEH leather settlement carve-out). The HSN tabular Prop 65 / FDA side-by-side and the children’s-vs-adult jewelry tables are the kind of retailer-channel compliance translation that brand QA teams routinely encountered, and they illustrate how a major US retailer operationalised the regulatory text as supplier-onboarding gates.

Update history

No substantive edit history is available in this build. The full commit record is available in git.