Skip to content
Heavy Metal Index

Sunflower Seeds

This page reports published measurements and their limitations. Compare values only when the product form, measurement basis, and metal species match.

8 related source records are associated with this category. This is a coverage count, not a measure of scientific confidence. References identify works cited in the text.

Overview

Sunflower seeds (Helianthus annuus) sold as raw, roasted, salted, in-shell, or shelled. Sunflower seed butter routes to row 16. Contaminated row of the Row 11 / Row 12 / Row 13 triplet: species-level Cd hyperaccumulator documented in the phytoremediation literature. Fechner BfR MEAL commercial sunflower seed Cd group-max 265 µg/kg.

This page is a Step 0 lock scaffold for Cat 4 Row 13. Literature evidence will be populated as routed source pages accumulate per the synthesis workflow. The Step 0 lock document at Category4_Step_0_Output_LOCKED.md is the canonical reference for the row’s clean-vs-contaminated framing and platform attribution.

Who this page is for

Brand legal teams evaluating HMT&C certification for the Sunflower Seeds row need to know what the cited literature reports per panel metal, what the applicable regulatory caps are, and how this row relates to its clean-contaminated pair (when applicable). Retailer compliance teams stocking the produce, dried-goods, and snack aisles need the row-level assortment-eligibility view. HMT&C certification thresholds for products in this row are developed under the certification program at heavymetalcertified.com, not on this page.

Evidence summary

Evidence summary

The table below summarizes what the peer-reviewed and government literature cited on this page reports for heavy-metal concentrations in Sunflower Seeds. Values are pulled directly from cited sources without re-aggregation. This page publishes literature evidence only, not certification thresholds.

Methodology rules for speciation, basis preservation, non-detect handling, and source pooling are stated in the Methodology section above and apply to every row below.

AnalyteSubcategoryReported concentration rangeDetection rateApplicable regulatory capSourcesConfidenceBasis
CdSunflower Seeds (no contributing evidence loaded)No concentration data loaded for this analyteSample-level detection rate not reportedCommission Regulation (EU) 2023/915 cadmium maximum levels: 500 ppb (commodity)0data gapBasis not reported
PbSunflower Seeds (no contributing evidence loaded)No concentration data loaded for this analyteSample-level detection rate not reportedNo applicable cap loaded0data gapBasis not reported
NiSunflower Seeds (no contributing evidence loaded)No concentration data loaded for this analyteSample-level detection rate not reportedCommission Regulation (EU) 2024/1987 — maximum levels of nickel in certain foodstuffs: 8000 ppb (edible part)0data gapBasis not reported

Source Evidence Inventory

_Hand-curated section. Populated by the synthesis pass as Cat 4 sources route to this row. Initial scaffold state: zero contributing sources. The Cat 4 corpus search prioritizes sources reporting concentration data on the specific commodity in this row; broad-scope produce surveys are filed under the master.

Supporting evidence and scope

Pending: regenerated by tools/evidence/apply-product-broad-context.mjs once broad-scope Cat 4 sources route to this page.

Federal/Regulatory Limits vs Field Findings

Pending. Cat 4 regulatory landscape: Codex GSCTFF and EU Regulation 2023/915 set finished-product limits on fruits and vegetables (Pb, Cd) and on specific commodities (e.g., spinach Cd at 0.20 mg/kg per eu-2023-915); FDA Closer-to-Zero applies to infant fruit purées (Cat 1, not Cat 4) but informs the regulatory baseline; California Prop 65 covers cumulative Pb/Cd exposure across produce categories. Awaiting agency-page ingest.

Controls and mitigation

The Cat 4 Step 0 lock framework distinguishes lower-contamination row produce/seed rows from contaminated-platform commodity rows (where species or production system carries elevated metal load by characteristic). For this row, the levers below are ordered by impact magnitude per the literature evidence base; sourcing-and-agronomic levers dominate the per-product metal load, with processing-and-formulation levers offering additional reduction.

  1. Sourcing levers (highest impact): supplier and origin-region selection for the platform commodity. Within-species variance by origin region is documented in the literature; pre-screened low-impurity supply is commercially available.
  2. Agronomic levers: soil amendments (Cd accumulation in spinach/sunflower is reducible via soil-pH and silicon-amendment interventions documented in phytoremediation literature; geocarpic Al uptake in peanuts responds to soil-Al management).
  3. Cultivar/varietal selection: where within-species variance is documented, low-accumulating cultivars are commercially viable.
  4. Processing levers where applicable: rinsing, hulling, blanching may reduce surface-bound metal load on whole-seed/whole-bean formats; refining-grade differences for butter formats.
  5. Formulation levers: reduce the platform-commodity fraction of multi-ingredient products where function permits.
  6. Testing/QC levers: lot-level ICP-MS on raw commodity and finished product. Cat 4 supply chains routinely COA at the µg/kg level for premium-spec commodity.
  7. Regulatory levers (not brand-controllable): supporting Codex and state-level fruit/vegetable Pb/Cd limits drives industry-wide tightening.

Pair relationship + platform attribution

This is the contaminated row of a Cat 4 clean-contaminated split. The clean counterpart is Row 11 (Nuts and Seeds, Other). The categorical metal-load difference is attributable to platform ingredient(s) carrying load on Cd. Certification threshold decisions for this row and its clean counterpart are made separately under the certification program and are not published on this public page.

How standards math uses this page

This page reports what the peer-reviewed and government literature says about heavy-metal concentrations in this product category; it publishes no certification thresholds of its own. Certification criteria are set separately under the Heavy Metal Tested & Certified program at heavymetalcertified.com, which reads this page as its literature baseline. The two are kept apart by design, so this page remains an independent record of the evidence rather than a justification for any threshold.

Historical recalls and enforcement

Cat 4 (produce, nuts, seeds) regulatory enforcement intersects two domains: heavy-metal contamination (the focus of this row) and microbial contamination (FDA recall notices for E. coli/Salmonella/Listeria in fresh produce, a separate concern). FDA Total Diet Study and Pesticide Data Program surveillance reports establish the heavy-metal occurrence baseline (FDA 2022). State-level Cd-in-leafy-greens enforcement has been active in California under Prop 65; the related Mateel Environmental settlement framework has shaped compliance practice. Individual brand recall actions are not enumerated here.

Methodology

This page reports what the cited sources say about heavy-metal concentrations in the Sunflower Seeds row. Speciation is non-substitutable (iAs vs tAs, MeHg vs tHg, Cr-VI vs total Cr). Basis is preserved (as-sold or as-consumed depending on the product form). Non-detect handling follows each source’s convention. Pooling avoided across LOD/LOQ, period, geography, and analytical-basis differences. HMT&C certification thresholds for products in this row are developed under the certification program at heavymetalcertified.com, not on this page; this public page reports literature evidence only.

Cat 4 lock empirical basis: Pass 2 occurrence-data extraction from the heavymetalindex.com wiki corpus (build claude/zealous-bhabha-d422c9, 896 source pages). The Step 0 lock document at Category4_Step_0_Output_LOCKED.md records the splitting decisions and platform attributions; this row inherits its scope from that document.

References

Works cited in this page’s text, in first-appearance order. See Sources for this page’s source inventory. Each title links to a source record with bibliographic details, reported findings, and document provenance.

  1. Total Diet Study Report: Fiscal Years 2018-2020 Elements DataU.S. Food and Drug Administration · 2022 · www.fda.govGovernment

Sources

Source records associated with this topic. Inclusion does not establish that every finding applies to this product or ingredient. References above identify works cited in the text.

#CitationYearTypeUsed on this page for
1Shar et al. 2026. Environmental Assessment of Heavy Metal Uptake and Accumulation in Sunflower Seeds, Planta Animalia 5(2):191-1972026Peer-reviewedPK Pb, Cd, Cr, Cu, Zn occurrence in 36 composite sunflower seed samples from different ecological zones of Sindh, Pakistan (n=36)
2Tkachuk et al. 2024. Ecological safety of sunflower seeds in the conditions of agricultural intensification, Scientific Horizons2024Peer-reviewedUA Pb, Cd, Cu, Zn, tHg occurrence in sunflower seeds and soil under intensive agricultural technology (n=one production batch)
3Nazari et al. 2023. Impacts of Heavy Metals in Seed Crops and Oil Seed on Human Health: A Threat to Food Safety — Review, Carpathian Journal of Food Science and Technology, 15(2), 106-1242023Reviewglobal/IR tAs, Pb, Cd, tHg, Ni, Cr occurrence in Review of published literature on heavy metals in oilseeds and vegetable/seed oils globally; no primary data collection
4Fu et al. 2022. Physiological and Transcriptomic Comparison of Two Sunflower (Helianthus annuus L.) Cultivars With High/Low Cadmium Accumulation, Frontiers in Plant Science2022Peer-reviewedCN/UA Cd concentrations (n=2)
5Gül et al. 2021. Determination of Some Heavy Metals in Oil Sunflower Seeds Grown in the North of Turkey, European Journal of Science and Technology (EJOSAT) (23):725-7292021Peer-reviewedTR Al, Cd, Pb, Ni, Cr, Cu, Zn occurrence in 18 sunflower seed samples from six Middle Black Sea Region sunflower-growing areas (n=18)
6Schaefer et al. 2020. Cadmium: Mitigation strategies to reduce dietary exposure, Journal of Food Science2020ReviewUS/EU/AU Cd occurrence in Review of global literature and FDA Total Diet Study 2014–2016 data for cadmium in food and mitigation interventions
7Nordberg et al. 2015. Cadmium (Chapter 32), in Handbook on the Toxicology of Metals, Fourth Edition, Volume II: Specific Metals, Academic Press / Elsevier, Amsterdam2015Textbook chapterinternational/EU/US Cd concentrations
8EFSA 2009. Scientific Opinion of the Panel on Contaminants in the Food Chain on a request from the European Commission on cadmium in food, The EFSA Journal2009Government reportEU Cd concentrations

Update history

No substantive edit history is available in this build. The full commit record is available in git.