Skip to content
Heavy Metal Index

Pacifiers and sucking/teething aids

This page reports published measurements and their limitations. Compare values only when the product form, measurement basis, and metal species match.

9 related source records are associated with this category. This is a coverage count, not a measure of scientific confidence. References identify works cited in the text.

Overview

This page is a scaffolded entry for HMTc Taxonomy v2.0 Category 9 (Infant and Child Contact Products (Ages 0-5)), Row 4: Pacifiers and sucking/teething aids. Studies for this row are still being read. Where a section is empty, the row has not yet accumulated contributing sources of the required kind.

Literature scope

The Heavy Metal Index source corpus is currently focused on food and food-contact materials. This page documents an HMTc Taxonomy v2.0 row in the category Infant and Child Contact Products (Ages 0-5) for which no peer-reviewed primary or government sources have yet been ingested. The page exists as the routing destination for future ingest. Until sources land, the literature-evidence sections below are deliberately empty rather than guessed; HMTc certification thresholds for products in this row continue to be developed under the certification program at heavymetalcertified.com, not on this public page.

Reading guide

Legal, regulatory and retailer teams can use the cited measurements, applicable limits and study limitations to assess the evidence for this category.

Quality teams can examine product form, measurement basis and sources of variation. Journalists and researchers can follow each reference to the original findings and methods.

Related tools and pages: heavymetalcertified.com · methodology

Evidence summary

Evidence summary

The table below summarizes what the peer-reviewed and government literature cited on this page reports for heavy-metal concentrations in Pacifiers and sucking/teething aids. Values are pulled directly from cited sources without re-aggregation. This page publishes literature evidence only, not certification thresholds.

Methodology rules for speciation, basis preservation, non-detect handling, and source pooling are stated in the Methodology section above and apply to every row below.

AnalyteSubcategoryReported concentration rangeDetection rateApplicable regulatory capSourcesConfidenceBasis
PbPacifiers and sucking/teething aids (no contributing evidence loaded)No concentration data loaded for this analyteSample-level detection rate not reportedNo applicable cap loaded0data gapBasis not reported
CdPacifiers and sucking/teething aids (no contributing evidence loaded)No concentration data loaded for this analyteSample-level detection rate not reportedNo applicable cap loaded0data gapBasis not reported
iAsPacifiers and sucking/teething aids (no contributing evidence loaded)No concentration data loaded for this analyteSample-level detection rate not reportedNo applicable cap loaded0data gapBasis not reported
tAsPacifiers and sucking/teething aids (no contributing evidence loaded)No concentration data loaded for this analyteSample-level detection rate not reportedNo applicable cap loaded0data gapBasis not reported

Source Evidence Inventory

Sources for this row will be listed here once they are catalogued.

Supporting evidence and scope

Broader-scope sources for this row will be listed here when they are catalogued.

Federal/Regulatory Limits vs Field Findings

Regulatory limits for this row will be listed here once they are catalogued.

Controls and mitigation

Practical interventions to reduce heavy-metal load in this row, ordered by impact magnitude. Each lever names the magnitude of the effect with a cited source; cross-links to dedicated Mitigation pages where they exist.

How standards math uses this page

HMT&C certification thresholds for this row are developed under the certification program at heavymetalcertified.com, not on this page. The row-standard for this row is an aggregate computed from the contributing source pool in the row’s native finished-product basis; it is not a per-source decoration of any single value cited on this page. This public page reports literature evidence only.

Historical recalls and enforcement

Public regulatory events for this row, such as recalls and import alerts, will be listed here as they are catalogued.

Methodology

This page reports what the cited sources say about heavy-metal concentrations in pacifiers and sucking/teething aids. Speciation is non-substitutable (iAs vs tAs, MeHg vs tHg, Cr-VI vs total Cr). Basis is preserved (finished-product as sold unless the source specifies otherwise; see each row for the basis label). Non-detect handling follows each source’s reporting convention. Pooling is avoided across LOD/LOQ, period, geography, and analytical-basis differences. HMT&C certification thresholds for products in this row are developed under the certification program at heavymetalcertified.com, not on this page; this public page reports literature evidence only.

The applicable regulatory jurisdictions for this row are: CPSIA, CPSC, FDA (food-contact for bottles/nipples), EU.

Sources

Sources for this row will be listed here once they are catalogued.

Sources

Source records associated with this topic. Inclusion does not establish that every finding applies to this product or ingredient. References above identify works cited in the text.

#CitationYearTypeUsed on this page for
1Seifi 2026. Investigation of the concentration of chemical compounds in toys, Environmental Health and Pollution Research, 2026, 1(1), 43-482026Peer-reviewedIR/EU Pb, Cd, tHg, tAs, Cr occurrence in 120 children’s toys marketed for ages 0–12 years, collected by stratified random sampling between January 2024 and June… (n=120)
2ECHA 2023. Investigation report to support the Commission on the preparation of a restriction proposal for the use and presence of CMR 1A or 1B substances in childcare articles based on REACH Article 68(2), European Chemicals Agency (ECHA), Helsinki, Finland. Investigation report version 2.0 (Final), 31 October 2023, prepared at the request of the European Commission under REACH Article 68(2).2023Regulatory agency reportEU Pb, Cd, Cr-VI, Co, tAs, tHg, Sn, Li, V occurrence in Not a primary-measurement study. The report aggregates 1,559 entries reporting measurements of CMR 1A or 1B substances in…
3Fowles 2021. Health Risk Assessment: Lead in Children’s Toys, ESR Client Report FW21014, prepared for the New Zealand Ministry of Health by the Institute of Environmental Science and Research Ltd (Risk Assessment & Social Systems Group), May 20212021RegulatoryNZ/US/EU Pb occurrence in Risk-assessment opinion document. No primary sampling. Synthesises external dietary, drinking-water, dust/soil, air, and toy-contact exposure data, including: NZ…
4Stone 2021. Metals in Children’s and Consumer Products and Packaging, Washington State Department of Ecology, Hazardous Waste and Toxics Reduction Program, Publication 14-04-014 (Revised June 2021)2021RegulatoryUS Sb, tAs, Cd, Cr, Co, Cu, Pb, tHg, Mo, Zn occurrence in 150 component samples submitted for laboratory metals analysis, sub-sampled from 101 children’s products purchased from local Washington stores… (n=150)
5Mohammed et al. 2020. Heavy metals in children’s toys and baby items commonly sold in Trinidad and Tobago, Journal of Environmental Chemistry and Ecotoxicology 12(1):59-642020Peer-reviewedTT/EU Pb, Cd, Cr, Ni, Cu, Mn occurrence in Eighteen plastic children’s toys and baby items intended for children under 5 years of age, obtained from the… (n=18)
6Users 2016. Comparative Testing: Baby Pacifier and Sippy Cups, Malaysian Association of Standards Users (Standards Users), Petaling Jaya, Malaysia. Comparative testing report (undated; filename year 2016).2016NGO reportMY Pb, Cd, tAs, Sb, Cr, tHg occurrence in Eight infant-contact products purchased from Malaysian retail in 2016 for comparative consumer testing: six pacifiers/soothers (Symmetrical Soother, Silicone… (n=8)
7(BfR) 2009. Lead and cadmium do not belong in toys, BfR Opinion No. 048/2009, 1 June 2009 (Federal Institute for Risk Assessment, Germany)2009RegulatoryEU/DE Pb, Cd occurrence in Risk-assessment opinion document. No primary sampling. Synthesises external dietary-intake estimates and biomonitoring data, including: lead alimentary intake in…
8Stringer et al. 2001. Toxic chemicals in a child’s world: an investigation into PVC plastic products, Greenpeace Research Laboratories, University of Exeter (UK); June 20012001NGO reportAT/BR/CA Pb, Cd, Sn occurrence in 54 vinyl-chloride (PVC or vinyl) consumer products purchased in 20 countries (Austria, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Czech Republic,… (n=54)

Update history

No substantive edit history is available in this build. The full commit record is available in git.