Overview
Cashews (Anacardium occidentale) sold as raw, roasted, salted, unsalted, or with seasonings. Cashew butter routes to row 14 (nut and seed butters, other). Contaminated row of the Row 11 / Row 12 / Row 13 triplet: soil-uptake elevated relative to other tree nuts driven by species and production geography (West Africa, Vietnam, India, Brazil). Cwielag pair mean 6,434 µg/kg Ni; BfR 2022 5,350 µg/kg.
This page is a Step 0 lock scaffold for Cat 4 Row 12. Literature evidence will be populated as routed source pages accumulate per the synthesis workflow. The Step 0 lock document at Category4_Step_0_Output_LOCKED.md is the canonical reference for the row’s clean-vs-contaminated framing and platform attribution.
Who this page is for
Brand legal teams evaluating HMT&C certification for the Cashews row need to know what the cited literature reports per panel metal, what the applicable regulatory caps are, and how this row relates to its clean-contaminated pair (when applicable). Retailer compliance teams stocking the produce, dried-goods, and snack aisles need the row-level assortment-eligibility view. HMT&C certification thresholds for products in this row are developed under the certification program at heavymetalcertified.com, not on this page.
Evidence summary
Evidence summary
The table below summarizes what the peer-reviewed and government literature cited on this page reports for heavy-metal concentrations in Cashews. Values are pulled directly from cited sources without re-aggregation. This page publishes literature evidence only, not certification thresholds.
Methodology rules for speciation, basis preservation, non-detect handling, and source pooling are stated in the Methodology section above and apply to every row below.
| Analyte | Subcategory | Reported concentration range | Detection rate | Applicable regulatory cap | Sources | Confidence | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ni | Cashews (no contributing evidence loaded) | No concentration data loaded for this analyte | Sample-level detection rate not reported | Commission Regulation (EU) 2024/1987 — maximum levels of nickel in certain foodstuffs: 10000 ppb (edible part) | 0 | data gap | Basis not reported |
| Pb | Cashews (no contributing evidence loaded) | No concentration data loaded for this analyte | Sample-level detection rate not reported | No applicable cap loaded | 0 | data gap | Basis not reported |
| Cd | Cashews (no contributing evidence loaded) | No concentration data loaded for this analyte | Sample-level detection rate not reported | Commission Regulation (EU) 2023/915 cadmium maximum levels: 200 ppb (product as placed on market) | 0 | data gap | Basis not reported |
Source Evidence Inventory
_Hand-curated section. Populated by the synthesis pass as Cat 4 sources route to this row. Initial scaffold state: zero contributing sources. The Cat 4 corpus search prioritizes sources reporting concentration data on the specific commodity in this row; broad-scope produce surveys are filed under the master.
Supporting evidence and scope
Pending: regenerated by tools/evidence/apply-product-broad-context.mjs once broad-scope Cat 4 sources route to this page.
Federal/Regulatory Limits vs Field Findings
Pending. Cat 4 regulatory landscape: Codex GSCTFF and EU Regulation 2023/915 set finished-product limits on fruits and vegetables (Pb, Cd) and on specific commodities (e.g., spinach Cd at 0.20 mg/kg per eu-2023-915); FDA Closer-to-Zero applies to infant fruit purées (Cat 1, not Cat 4) but informs the regulatory baseline; California Prop 65 covers cumulative Pb/Cd exposure across produce categories. Awaiting agency-page ingest.
Controls and mitigation
The Cat 4 Step 0 lock framework distinguishes lower-contamination row produce/seed rows from contaminated-platform commodity rows (where species or production system carries elevated metal load by characteristic). For this row, the levers below are ordered by impact magnitude per the literature evidence base; sourcing-and-agronomic levers dominate the per-product metal load, with processing-and-formulation levers offering additional reduction.
- Sourcing levers (highest impact): supplier and origin-region selection for the platform commodity. Within-species variance by origin region is documented in the literature; pre-screened low-impurity supply is commercially available.
- Agronomic levers: soil amendments (Cd accumulation in spinach/sunflower is reducible via soil-pH and silicon-amendment interventions documented in phytoremediation literature; geocarpic Al uptake in peanuts responds to soil-Al management).
- Cultivar/varietal selection: where within-species variance is documented, low-accumulating cultivars are commercially viable.
- Processing levers where applicable: rinsing, hulling, blanching may reduce surface-bound metal load on whole-seed/whole-bean formats; refining-grade differences for butter formats.
- Formulation levers: reduce the platform-commodity fraction of multi-ingredient products where function permits.
- Testing/QC levers: lot-level ICP-MS on raw commodity and finished product. Cat 4 supply chains routinely COA at the µg/kg level for premium-spec commodity.
- Regulatory levers (not brand-controllable): supporting Codex and state-level fruit/vegetable Pb/Cd limits drives industry-wide tightening.
Pair relationship + platform attribution
This is the contaminated row of a Cat 4 clean-contaminated split. The clean counterpart is Row 11 (Nuts and Seeds, Other). The categorical metal-load difference is attributable to platform ingredient(s) carrying load on Ni. Certification threshold decisions for this row and its clean counterpart are made separately under the certification program and are not published on this public page.
How standards math uses this page
This page reports what the peer-reviewed and government literature says about heavy-metal concentrations in this product category; it publishes no certification thresholds of its own. Certification criteria are set separately under the Heavy Metal Tested & Certified program at heavymetalcertified.com, which reads this page as its literature baseline. The two are kept apart by design, so this page remains an independent record of the evidence rather than a justification for any threshold.
Historical recalls and enforcement
Cat 4 (produce, nuts, seeds) regulatory enforcement intersects two domains: heavy-metal contamination (the focus of this row) and microbial contamination (FDA recall notices for E. coli/Salmonella/Listeria in fresh produce, a separate concern). FDA Total Diet Study and Pesticide Data Program surveillance reports establish the heavy-metal occurrence baseline (FDA 2022). State-level Cd-in-leafy-greens enforcement has been active in California under Prop 65; the related Mateel Environmental settlement framework has shaped compliance practice. Individual brand recall actions are not enumerated here.
Methodology
This page reports what the cited sources say about heavy-metal concentrations in the Cashews row. Speciation is non-substitutable (iAs vs tAs, MeHg vs tHg, Cr-VI vs total Cr). Basis is preserved (as-sold or as-consumed depending on the product form). Non-detect handling follows each source’s convention. Pooling avoided across LOD/LOQ, period, geography, and analytical-basis differences. HMT&C certification thresholds for products in this row are developed under the certification program at heavymetalcertified.com, not on this page; this public page reports literature evidence only.
Cat 4 lock empirical basis: Pass 2 occurrence-data extraction from the heavymetalindex.com wiki corpus (build claude/zealous-bhabha-d422c9, 896 source pages). The Step 0 lock document at Category4_Step_0_Output_LOCKED.md records the splitting decisions and platform attributions; this row inherits its scope from that document.
References
Works cited in this page’s text, in first-appearance order. See Sources for this page’s source inventory. Each title links to a source record with bibliographic details, reported findings, and document provenance.
Sources
Source records associated with this topic. Inclusion does not establish that every finding applies to this product or ingredient. References above identify works cited in the text.
| # | Citation | Year | Type | Used on this page for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Alatise et al. 2025. Assessment of natural radioactivity and heavy metal accumulation in selected edible fruit nuts from Lagos and Ogun State markets, Nigeria, Nigerian Journal of Theoretical and Environmental Physics | 2025 | Peer-reviewed | NG Pb, Cd, Cr, Ni, tAs, tHg occurrence in peanuts, cashew nuts, walnuts, date nuts, tiger nuts, and kola nuts from Lagos and Ogun State markets (n=six nut types) |
| 2 | Ćwieląg-Drabek et al. 2025. Evaluation of Cadmium, Lead, Chromium, and Nickel Content in Various Types of Nuts: Almonds, Cashews, Hazelnuts, Peanuts, and Walnuts – Health Risk of Polish Consumers, Biological Trace Element Research | 2025 | Peer-reviewed | PL/EU Cd, Pb, Cr, Ni occurrence in Commercial nuts (almonds, cashews, hazelnuts, peanuts, walnuts) available on the Polish market (n=69) |
| 3 | BfR 2022. Nickel: estimate of long-term intake via food based on the BfR MEAL Study, BfR Communication No. 033/2022 | 2022 | Government report | DE/EU Ni occurrence in 840 food pools from 356 foods representing 90%+ of German food consumption; adults and adolescents N=13,926 (NVS II,… (n=840) |
| 4 | Fechner et al. 2022. Results of the BfR MEAL Study: In Germany, mercury is mostly contained in fish and seafood while cadmium, lead, and nickel are present in a broad spectrum of foods, Food Chemistry: X | 2022 | Peer-reviewed | DE/EU tHg, MeHg, Cd, Pb, Ni occurrence in 869 pooled samples from 356 foods representing 90%+ of German food consumption; adults and adolescents N=13,926 (NVS II… (n=869) |
| 5 | Bielecka et al. 2021. Assessment of the Safe Consumption of Nuts in Terms of the Content of Toxic Elements with Chemometric Analysis, Nutrients | 2021 | Peer-reviewed | Poland tAs, Cd, Pb, tHg occurrence in One hundred twenty edible nut samples purchased from Polish markets between January and March 2021: ten samples each… (n=120) |
| 6 | Nkwocha et al. 2021. Chemical composition of raw cashew (Anacardium occidentale) nuts sourced from Enugu State, South Eastern Nigeria, Journal of Food Safety and Food Quality | 2021 | Peer-reviewed | NG Cd, Pb, tHg occurrence in fresh cashew nut samples from Obukpa-Lejja, Nsukka, Enugu State, Nigeria (n=not reported) |
Update history
No substantive edit history is available in this build. The full commit record is available in git.