Skip to content
Heavy Metal Index

Baby Powder, Cornstarch-Based

This page reports published measurements and their limitations. Compare values only when the product form, measurement basis, and metal species match.

11 related source records are associated with this category. This is a coverage count, not a measure of scientific confidence. References identify works cited in the text.

Overview

Cornstarch-based baby powder, including talc-free baby powders reformulated with corn starch. Clean baseline of the Row 3 / Row 4 clean-contaminated pair: cornstarch carries no platform metal load, in contrast to talc.

This page is a Step 0 lock scaffold for Cat 2 Row 3. Literature evidence will be populated as routed source pages accumulate per the synthesis workflow. The Step 0 lock document at Category2_Clean_vs_Contaminated_Splits.md is the canonical reference for the row’s clean-vs-contaminated framing and platform attribution.

Literature scope

The Heavy Metal Index source corpus is currently focused on food and food-contact materials. This page documents an HMTc Taxonomy v2.0 row in the category this product class for which no peer-reviewed primary or government sources have yet been ingested. The page exists as the routing destination for future ingest. Until sources land, the literature-evidence sections below are deliberately empty rather than guessed; HMTc certification thresholds for products in this row continue to be developed under the certification program at heavymetalcertified.com, not on this public page.

Who this page is for

Brand legal teams evaluating HMT&C certification for the Baby Powder, Cornstarch-Based row need to know what the cited literature reports per panel metal, what the applicable regulatory caps are, and how this row relates to its clean-contaminated pair (when applicable). Retailer compliance teams stocking the children’s personal care aisle need the row-level assortment-eligibility view. HMT&C certification thresholds for products in this row are developed under the certification program at heavymetalcertified.com, not on this page.

Evidence summary

Evidence summary

The table below summarizes what the peer-reviewed and government literature cited on this page reports for heavy-metal concentrations in powder product. Values are pulled directly from cited sources without re-aggregation. This page publishes literature evidence only, not certification thresholds.

Methodology rules for speciation, basis preservation, non-detect handling, and source pooling are stated in the Methodology section above and apply to every row below.

AnalyteSubcategoryReported concentration rangeDetection rateApplicable regulatory capSourcesConfidenceBasis
Pbpowder (summary-only / supporting context)No headline range. Grey literature: news-reported compliance test; method not printed: maximum 3500 ppb, not a headline figureSample-level detection rate not reportedHealth Canada — Guidance on Heavy Metal Impurities in Cosmetics: Pb 10, As 3, Cd 3, Hg 1, Sb 5 ppm: 10000 ppb (finished cosmetic as sold (technically unavoidable impurity))1 citedlow (1-2 sources)as-sold
Cdpowder (summary-only / supporting context)No headline range. Grey literature: news-reported compliance test; method not printed: maximum 310 ppb, not a headline figureSample-level detection rate not reportedHealth Canada — Guidance on Heavy Metal Impurities in Cosmetics: Pb 10, As 3, Cd 3, Hg 1, Sb 5 ppm: 3000 ppb (finished cosmetic as sold (technically unavoidable impurity))1 citedlow (1-2 sources)as-sold
Nipowder (no contributing evidence loaded)No concentration data loaded for this analyteSample-level detection rate not reportedNo applicable cap loaded0data gapBasis not reported
Crpowder (no contributing evidence loaded)No concentration data loaded for this analyteSample-level detection rate not reportedNo applicable cap loaded0data gapBasis not reported

Source Evidence Inventory

No source in the corpus reports metal concentrations for individually identified corn-starch baby powders.

A 2020 Shenzhen Consumer Council test (grey literature: a news report of a compliance test, method not printed; these maxima are not headline figures) of 20 infant powders, reported in the press, found all within the Chinese national standard. The four samples above the German technically avoidable values were all plant-starch powders without talc. The maxima across all 20 samples were lead 3.5, arsenic 0.87, and cadmium 0.31 mg/kg; one sample exceeded the German values for all three metals. Per-sample values were not obtained. 20款爽身粉测评 (Test of 20 infant powders by the Shenzhen Consumer Council), news report

A Washington State Department of Ecology survey analysed one baby powder of unstated formulation, with printed values of total chromium 2.2, cobalt 0.4, lead 0.4, and molybdenum 0.2 ppm, below the survey plans’ 1.0 ppm reporting limit. Metals in Children's and Consumer Products and Packaging

In Canada, corn starch (10 to 98%) and kaolin are natural health product ingredients under the Diaper Rash Products Monograph, and powder is a permitted dosage form only in that class Diaper Rash Products Monograph. Such products follow the topical limits of the Quality of Natural Health Products Guide: arsenic 3, cadmium 3, lead 10, total mercury 1, antimony 5 ppm Quality of Natural Health Products Guide. Corn-starch baby powders sold as cosmetics fall under Health Canada’s cosmetics guidance (same five values) Guidance on Heavy Metal Impurities in Cosmetics, the German BVL orientation values for cosmetics in general Technically avoidable heavy metal contents in cosmetic products, and the Washington lead prohibition at 1 ppm Washington State Toxic-Free Cosmetics Act (HB 1047) — statutory cap on heavy metals in cosmetic products.

Supporting evidence and scope

Pending: regenerated by tools/evidence/apply-product-broad-context.mjs once broad-scope Cat 2 sources route to this page.

Federal/Regulatory Limits vs Field Findings

Pending. Cat 2 regulatory landscape is fragmented: cosmetics under FDA FD&C Act adulteration provisions (no binding finished-product heavy-metal limits); sunscreens under FDA OTC drug monograph; toothpaste under FDA cosmetic + OTC drug regulation; state-level cosmetic heavy-metal laws (Washington TFCA 2025, New York TCCP). EU 1223/2009 Annex II/III addresses cosmetic ingredient restrictions but not finished-product action levels. Awaiting agency-page ingest.

Controls and mitigation

The Cat 2 Step 0 lock framework distinguishes clean-formulation rows from contaminated-platform rows. For this row, the levers below are ordered by impact magnitude based on the literature evidence base and per the Step 0 lock attribution of platform-level metal load. Brand-legal teams evaluating HMT&C certification eligibility for this row should treat the formulation/sourcing levers as the dominant compliance pathway.

  1. Maintain the clean-baseline formulation choice. The Row 3 clean baseline exists precisely because alternative ingredient classes (without the platform load) are commercially available. Brands certifying this row commit to NOT adopting the contaminated variant’s ingredient class.
  2. Sourcing-level controls on the few remaining ingredient classes carrying trace metal load.
  3. Testing/QC levers: lot-level ICP-MS on raw materials and finished product.

Pair relationship

This is the clean-baseline row of a Cat 2 clean-contaminated pair. The contaminated counterpart is Row 4 ((pending)). The Step 0 lock documents the categorical metal-load difference attributable to the contaminated row’s platform ingredient(s); the clean baseline row certifies against limits set to genuinely clean-achievable levels independent of the platform.

How standards math uses this page

This page reports what the peer-reviewed and government literature says about heavy-metal concentrations in this product category; it publishes no certification thresholds of its own. Certification criteria are set separately under the Heavy Metal Tested & Certified program at heavymetalcertified.com, which reads this page as its literature baseline. The two are kept apart by design, so this page remains an independent record of the evidence rather than a justification for any threshold.

Historical recalls and enforcement

Cat 2 (children’s personal care) regulatory enforcement is fragmented: cosmetics fall under FDA FD&C Act adulteration provisions without binding finished-product heavy-metal action levels; sunscreens fall under FDA OTC drug monograph; toothpaste falls under FDA cosmetic + OTC drug regulation. State-level enforcement is more active: Washington State Toxic-Free Cosmetics Act 2025 sets heavy-metal limits for cosmetic products sold in Washington; New York Toxic Children’s Cosmetic Products Act sets limits for children’s makeup. California Prop 65 enforcement actions on cosmetics (lip balm, lipstick, eye products) have established practical compliance thresholds via settlement agreements. EU Cosmetic Regulation 1223/2009 Annex II/III addresses cosmetic-ingredient restrictions but not finished-product action levels. Individual brand recall actions are not enumerated here; the recalls are framed as regulatory events that establish the operative compliance landscape.

Methodology

This page reports what the cited sources say about heavy-metal concentrations in the Baby Powder, Cornstarch-Based row. Speciation is non-substitutable (iAs vs tAs, MeHg vs tHg, Cr-VI vs total Cr). Basis is preserved (finished-product as sold). Non-detect handling follows each source’s convention. Pooling avoided across LOD/LOQ, period, geography, and analytical-basis differences. HMT&C certification thresholds for products in this row are developed under the certification program at heavymetalcertified.com, not on this page; this public page reports literature evidence only.

The non-ingestion exposure pathways relevant to this row (dermal, inhalation, accidental-ingestion, and trans-placental) are documented at Cat 2 (Children Personal Care) non-ingestion exposure pathways.

References

Works cited in this page’s text, in first-appearance order. See Sources for this page’s source inventory. Each title links to a source record with bibliographic details, reported findings, and document provenance.

  1. 20款爽身粉测评 (Test of 20 infant powders by the Shenzhen Consumer Council), news reportYang L and Tan A · 南方都市报 (Southern Metropolis Daily), 南都鉴定, 2020-06-19, by 杨丽云 and 谭嫒婷, reporting a Shenzhen Consumer Council comparative test · 2020 · m.mp.oeeee.comNews
  2. Metals in Children’s and Consumer Products and PackagingStone A · Washington State Department of Ecology, Hazardous Waste and Toxics Reduction Program, Publication 14-04-014 (Revised June 2021) · 2021 · apps.ecology.wa.govRegulation
  3. Diaper Rash Products MonographHealth Canada, Natural and Non-prescription Health Products Directorate · Health Products and Food Branch monograph dated 2024-02-23, replacing the Diaper Rash Products Monograph of 7 December 2018 · 2024 · webprod.hc-sc.gc.caRegulation
  4. Quality of Natural Health Products GuideHealth Canada Natural and Non-prescription Health Products Directorate · 2015 · www.canada.caRegulation
  5. Guidance on Heavy Metal Impurities in CosmeticsHealth Canada · 2012 · www.hc-sc.gc.caGuidance
  6. Technically avoidable heavy metal contents in cosmetic productsGerman Federal Office of Consumer Protection and Food Safety · Journal of Consumer Protection and Food Safety · 2017 · doi.org/10.1007/s00003-016-1044-2Regulation
  7. Washington State Toxic-Free Cosmetics Act (HB 1047) — statutory cap on heavy metals in cosmetic productsWashington State Legislature · Washington State Session Laws, Chapter 455, Laws of 2023 (2023 c 455), codified as Chapter 70A.560 RCW · 2023 · app.leg.wa.govRegulation

Sources

Source records associated with this topic. Inclusion does not establish that every finding applies to this product or ingredient. References above identify works cited in the text.

#CitationYearTypeUsed on this page for
1Committee of Ministers of 2023. Safe cosmetics for young children: a guide for manufacturers and safety assessors (2nd edition). Council of Europe Resolution CM/ResAP (2012) 1 on safety criteria for cosmetic products intended for infants., European Directorate for the Quality of Medicines & HealthCare (EDQM), Council of Europe, Strasbourg, France. 2nd edition. ISBN 978-92-871-9360-5. 56 pages.2023Government guidanceEU Pb, tHg occurrence in Not applicable. This is a Council of Europe Committee of Ministers Resolution (CM/ResAP (2012) 1) supplemented by the…
2Stone 2021. Metals in Children’s and Consumer Products and Packaging, Washington State Department of Ecology, Hazardous Waste and Toxics Reduction Program, Publication 14-04-014 (Revised June 2021)2021RegulatoryUS Sb, tAs, Cd, Cr, Co, Cu, Pb, tHg, Mo, Zn occurrence in 150 component samples submitted for laboratory metals analysis, sub-sampled from 101 children’s products purchased from local Washington stores… (n=150)
3Yang et al. 2020. 20款爽身粉测评 (Test of 20 infant powders by the Shenzhen Consumer Council), news report, 南方都市报 (Southern Metropolis Daily), 南都鉴定, 2020-06-19, by 杨丽云 and 谭嫒婷, reporting a Shenzhen Consumer Council comparative test2020NewsCN Pb, tAs, Cd occurrence in Twenty infant powders (14 domestic, 6 imported) bought through ordinary retail channels by council staff acting as consumers… (n=20)
4Canada 2012. Guidance on Heavy Metal Impurities in Cosmetics, Health Canada Consumer Product Safety guidance2012Government guidanceCA/DE/US Pb, tAs, Cd, tHg, Sb occurrence in Health Canada cosmetic-impurity guidance based on toxicology review, comparison with other program limits, German technical-avoidability limits, and Health…
5U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 2011. Exposure Factors Handbook: 2011 Edition — Chapter 17, Consumer Products, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, EPA/600/R-09/052F2011Government reportChapter 17 of the U.S. EPA’s 2011 Exposure Factors Handbook (EFH) compiles consumer-product use and exposure data — frequency of…

Update history

No substantive edit history is available in this build. The full commit record is available in git.