Skip to content
Heavy Metal Index

Phthalates or Phthalates-free Diaper: Money Matters

Overview

This is an eight-page Toxics Link (New Delhi) NGO investigation report, compiled by researcher Alka Dubey under supervision of Piyush Mohapatra, that pairs two consumer-survey datasets on phthalate plasticisers in disposable baby diapers sold in India. The 2019 round sampled 20 commonly available, low-cost Delhi-market diapers; the 2021 “current study” round sampled 15 diapers (13 disposable + 2 reusable organic cloth) marketed on e-commerce platforms as “organic”, “bio”, “chemical-free” or specifically “phthalate-free”. Both rounds were analysed at Spectro Analytical Labs in Delhi for the same four phthalates DEHP, BBP, DBP, and DIBP (the 2021 round additionally screened DEP), and the report frames the headline finding around the social-equity gap that the cheap commodity diapers used by lower-income families carry the heaviest phthalate burden while the expensive “phthalate-free”-branded e-platform alternatives are not actually phthalate-free.

The paper measures no heavy metals and contributes no occurrence data to the HMI corpus. It is ingested as a methodology and exposure-pathway reference for diaper-derived plasticiser exposure in Indian-market diapers — the paired commodity-vs-”chemical-free” study design and the labelling-vs-laboratory-finding discrepancy framework are reusable for HMI work on diaper substrate metals (Pb, cadmium (Cd), nickel (Ni), tin (Sn), chromium (Cr), aluminum (Al) in printed dyes, superabsorbent polymers, elastic backsheets) if/when comparable metal data become available. The corresponding sibling HMI metal-occurrence paper for Indian-market diapers is currently absent from the corpus; see Infants' Dermal Exposure to Phthalates from Disposable Baby Diapers and Its Association with DNA Oxidative Damage for a Guangzhou phthalate paper that fuses inner-layer diaper sampling with paired urinary metabolites, and Occurrence of tin in disposable baby diapers for Sn occurrence in Croatian-market diapers.

Key numbers

2019 cohort — 20 commonly available Delhi-market diapers (Table 1, p. 4; concentration in ppm)

  • Sampling frame: 20 disposable diapers (test codes TL-D 1..20), purchased in Delhi, low-cost commodity tier. Cost/unit range Rs 5.28-20 per diaper (Figure 2 reports a per-unit bar chart in rupees).
  • Analytes detected: DEHP, DBP, DIBP, BBP. DEHP and DBP detected in all 20 samples. DIBP detected in only 3 of 20 (range 1.92-12.36 ppm). BBP detected in only 1 of 20 (3.24 ppm in TL-D 3; reported as ND in five other samples).
  • DEHP range across 20 commodity diapers: 2.36 ppm (TL-D 12) to 264.94 ppm (TL-D 16). Top three: TL-D 16 264.94, TL-D 18 88.26, TL-D 19 62.02 ppm.
  • DBP range across 20 commodity diapers: 2.35 ppm (TL-D 2) to 37.31 ppm (TL-D 16). Median ≈ 9.3 ppm by inspection of Table 1.
  • Total phthalate (DEHP + BBP + DIBP + DBP) range: 8.2 ppm (TL-D 3) to 302.25 ppm (TL-D 16). The body bullet on p. 4 confirms: “The highest phthalate content reported was 302.25 ppm” and “DEHP, the most toxic phthalate, was observed in the range of 2.36 ppm to 264.94 ppm in the analysed samples.”

2021 “current study” cohort — 15 e-platform “organic/phthalate-free” diapers (Table 2, pp. 5-6; concentration in ppm)

  • Sampling frame: 15 diapers (test codes TL-BD-1..15) purchased online, marketed as organic / biodegradable / chemical-free / phthalate-free; 13 disposable + 2 reusable organic cloth (p. 5: “Out of 15 samples two are reusable organic cloth diapers”; the report does not identify which two TL-BD test codes are the cloth samples). Cost/unit range Rs 13.32-970 per diaper (Figure 3 in rupees, with TL-BD-13 at Rs 970 the highest).
  • Analytes detected: DEHP, BBP. DEP and DIBP were not detected in any sample. DEHP detected in 14 of 15 samples (only TL-BD-2 was ND for DEHP); BBP detected in 7 of 15 samples; DEP and DIBP detected in 0 of 15 samples.
  • DEHP range across 15 “phthalate-free”-labelled diapers: 2.2 ppm (TL-BD-5) to 7.78 ppm (TL-BD-8); average 3.69 ppm. (Note: PDF text on p. 6 says “Max value of DEHP was reported to be 7.78 ppm in sample TL-BD 8 followed by 7.42 ppm in sample TL-BD 7 while the lowest value of DEHP detected was 2.2 ppm in TL-BD 5” — second-highest TL-BD-7 at 7.42 ppm is correct per Table 2.)
  • BBP range across 15 “phthalate-free”-labelled diapers: 1 ppm (TL-BD-11) to 4.44 ppm (TL-BD-15); average 1.39 ppm across the seven detect samples. (PDF p. 6: “The maximum level of BBP was reported to be 4.44 ppm in sample TL-BD 15. These are significantly higher than average (1.39 ppm) of all the diapers that were analyzed.“)
  • Total phthalate range across 15: 2.2 ppm (TL-BD-5) to 11.54 ppm (TL-BD-7). Substantially lower than the 2019 commodity cohort (302.25 ppm maximum) — the report’s headline finding that the “phthalate-free”-branded diapers do contain measurably less phthalate, but are NOT phthalate-free as claimed.
  • Labelling-vs-laboratory discrepancy (Table 2 footnotes p. 5):
    • # notation: “Samples type were labeled safe and Phthalates free, however, Phthalates were found.” Applies to TL-BD-3# (DEHP 6.72 ppm, labelled “Zero phthalates”, “topsheet and bottomsheet from bamboo of finland”) and TL-BD-6# (DEHP 2.26 ppm, labelled “phthalates-free; 100% cotton; Non-woven Fabric, Breathable PE Film, SAP Polymer, Velcro”).
    • * notation: “samples were labeled chemicals free or organic but Phthalates were detected in testing.” Applies to TL-BD-4* (DEHP 5.89 ppm, “free of any chemicals, organic cotton”), TL-BD-9* (DEHP 2.34 ppm, “organic bamboo, Free from heavy metals and allergens”), and TL-BD-10* (DEHP 2.43 ppm, “100%biodegradable organic; Cloth Like Topsheet, Super Dry Layer, Certified Organic Bamboo Pulp Core, Velcro Side Tape”).

Aggregate observations across both cohorts (Observation, p. 7)

  • DEHP present in 20 of 20 commodity diapers (2019) and 14 of 15 “phthalate-free” diapers (2021); BBP present in 1 of 20 commodity diapers (2019) and 7 of 15 “phthalate-free” diapers (2021); DEP not detected in either cohort (2021 only — not analysed in 2019).
  • The “phthalate-free”-labelled cohort had lower concentrations (max DEHP 7.78 vs 264.94 ppm; max total phthalate 11.54 vs 302.25 ppm) but was NOT phthalate-free; the report concludes “the claim by manufacturers of being phthalate-free or chemical-free is not true.”
  • Cost-divide finding: commodity-tier diapers cost Rs 5-20 per unit; “phthalate-free”-labelled organic/imported diapers cost Rs 13-970 per unit (TL-BD-13 at Rs 970), creating what the report calls a “deep social divide to access the safe products in India.” Frames as a fundamental-rights-to-healthy-products argument and points to manufacturer practices where one major manufacturer’s premium and value sub-lines are described on p. 7 as an example of intra-company dual-tier marketing where higher-cost variants are positioned as lower-phthalate alongside lower-cost higher-phthalate variants for different socio-economic strata (brand name not reproduced here per Part 12 strict reading).

Reported phthalate cross-references (Phthalates in Diapers section, p. 2; for context, not measured)

  • Park C.J. et al. 2019 (Reproductive Toxicology; cited as endnote 7): screened diapers from Korea, Japan, Finland, France, Greece, US; detected DBP and DEHP in every diaper; highest reported phthalate concentration cited as 1,609.7 ppb (= 1.61 ppm).
  • Razavia et al. 2017 (Iran University; endnote 8): detected phthalates in baby-diaper topsheets using magnetic polyaniline-coated chitosan nanoparticles.
  • Ishii K. et al. 2015 (Regulatory Toxicology and Pharmacology 73:85-92; endnote 9): screened seven phthalates in topsheets of 5 Japanese disposable diapers; DEHP detected at 0.1-0.6 ppm and DBP at 0.1-0.2 ppm; estimated newborn-baby exposure from diaper wearing.

Regulatory landscape (Regulations box, p. 3; for context)

  • EU: General Product Safety Directive 2001/95/EC applicable to diapers as a general risk-assessment / withdrawal framework; no diaper-specific phthalate limit.
  • China: GB 15979-2002 “Hygienic Standard for Disposable Sanitary Products” (HS Code 9619001000 Pull-up baby diapers); mandates microbial-indicator and other test reporting; no specific phthalate-content limit.
  • South Korea: Ministry of Food and Drug Safety (MFDS) regulates baby and adult diapers under “Sanitary Products”; restrictions on fluorescent whitening agents, formaldehyde, chlorinated phenols, phthalates, and heavy-metal contaminants.
  • Japan: “Voluntary Standards for Safety and Hygiene of Non-woven Fabrics for Disposable Diapers — 2015”; phthalates classified as prohibited chemical substances and not allowed in diaper manufacture, but permitted as catalysts in the non-woven-fabric manufacturing process.
  • France: ANSES 2019 investigation (CONSO2017SA0019EN, endnote 10) cited as a precedent — Toxics Link references it as context for the Indian-market study but does not re-summarise findings here. See Opinion of the French Agency for Food, Environmental and Occupational Health & Safety on the safety of baby diapers (revised opinion, Request No 2017-SA-0019) for the cited ANSES synthesis.
  • India: “no specific guidelines are applicable on diapers” — the report’s framing for its core policy ask of mandatory labelling, phase-out of phthalates from diapers, and dedicated quality standards.

Reported composition shares (Figure 1, p. 2; non-measurement context)

  • Generic disposable-diaper composition pie: Pulp 43 %, SAP (acrylonitrile super-absorbent polymer) 27 %, Polypropylene/Polyethylene 23 %, Adhesive 5 %, Elastic 2 %. Figure does not specify source/manufacturer for these shares (likely industry-generic).

Methods (brief)

NGO commodity-survey study with two paired sampling rounds. Round 1 (2019): 20 disposable baby diapers purchased from Delhi-market commodity-tier retailers; samples analysed at Spectro Analytical Labs (Delhi, India) using “standard protocol for Phthalates testing” (Toxics Link’s stated phrasing on p. 5; no analytical-method detail published — analyte slate, sample-prep procedure, instrument vendor/model, detection limits, accuracy/precision data, and limits of detection are NOT documented in this 8-page summary report). Round 2 (2021 “current study”): 15 diapers (13 disposable + 2 reusable organic cloth) purchased from Indian e-commerce platforms (Amazon-style retail), specifically targeting product listings that market the diaper as organic / biodegradable / chemical-free / phthalate-free; same Spectro Analytical Labs Delhi analytical workflow. Both rounds report concentration in ppm. Sample-prep, extraction solvent, instrument (GC-MS implied but not stated), LOD/LOQ/recovery, and replicate structure are absent from the report body. Result statistics are descriptive only (range, average; no inferential statistics). The report does not document an NABL accreditation status or external proficiency-testing data for Spectro Analytical Labs in this study. The 2019 round had been previously published by Toxics Link as a standalone report (referenced as “previous study” throughout); the 2021 publication folds those findings into the new e-platform / “phthalate-free” cohort comparison.

Update history

The five most recent substantive edits to this page, classified major (evidence or structure moved), correction (a published value or statement was wrong and has been fixed), or minor (narrative rewritten without changing the underlying evidence). Each description is derived from what the edit did to this page; the linked commit is the authoritative record, routine regeneration passes are excluded, and the full version history lives in git.

CommitDateChangeDescription
b01ec52c312026-08-04major1 section added
3171d069e32026-08-02major1 section added
90a2f9a38e2026-07-30major1 section added and 1 removed
eaa8eeeedf2026-07-27major1 section added
af9c97a5092026-06-23major1 section added