Skip to content
Heavy Metal Index

Baby Oil

This page reports published measurements and their limitations. Compare values only when the product form, measurement basis, and metal species match.

12 related source records are associated with this category. This is a coverage count, not a measure of scientific confidence. References identify works cited in the text.

Overview

Mineral oil and plant oil baby oils marketed for ages 0-5. No within-row split per Step 0 lock — the categorical 8-panel metal difference between mineral and plant variants is not documented in the literature batch reviewed for the lock.

This page is a Step 0 lock scaffold for Cat 2 Row 2. Literature evidence will be populated as routed source pages accumulate per the synthesis workflow. The Step 0 lock document at Category2_Clean_vs_Contaminated_Splits.md is the canonical reference for the row’s clean-vs-contaminated framing and platform attribution.

Literature scope

The Heavy Metal Index source corpus is currently focused on food and food-contact materials. This page documents an HMTc Taxonomy v2.0 row in the category this product class for which no peer-reviewed primary or government sources have yet been ingested. The page exists as the routing destination for future ingest. Until sources land, the literature-evidence sections below are deliberately empty rather than guessed; HMTc certification thresholds for products in this row continue to be developed under the certification program at heavymetalcertified.com, not on this public page.

Who this page is for

Brand legal teams evaluating HMT&C certification for the Baby Oil row need to know what the cited literature reports per panel metal, what the applicable regulatory caps are, and how this row relates to its clean-contaminated pair (when applicable). Retailer compliance teams stocking the children’s personal care aisle need the row-level assortment-eligibility view. HMT&C certification thresholds for products in this row are developed under the certification program at heavymetalcertified.com, not on this page.

Evidence summary

Evidence summary

The table below summarizes what the peer-reviewed and government literature cited on this page reports for heavy-metal concentrations in Baby Oil. Values are pulled directly from cited sources without re-aggregation. This page publishes literature evidence only, not certification thresholds.

Methodology rules for speciation, basis preservation, non-detect handling, and source pooling are stated in the Methodology section above and apply to every row below.

AnalyteSubcategoryReported concentration rangeDetection rateApplicable regulatory capSourcesConfidenceBasis
PbBaby Oil (no contributing evidence loaded)No concentration data loaded for this analyteSample-level detection rate not reportedHealth Canada — Guidance on Heavy Metal Impurities in Cosmetics: Pb 10, As 3, Cd 3, Hg 1, Sb 5 ppm: 10000 ppb (finished cosmetic as sold (technically unavoidable impurity))0data gapBasis not reported
CdBaby Oil (no contributing evidence loaded)No concentration data loaded for this analyteSample-level detection rate not reportedHealth Canada — Guidance on Heavy Metal Impurities in Cosmetics: Pb 10, As 3, Cd 3, Hg 1, Sb 5 ppm: 3000 ppb (finished cosmetic as sold (technically unavoidable impurity))0data gapBasis not reported

Source Evidence Inventory

Almukainzi et al. 2022 measured eleven elements by ICP-MS in one baby oil of light paraffin oil and perfume bought in Riyadh: aluminium 26.81 ± 37.89, total chromium 21.17 ± 29.88, nickel 13.16 ± 18.59, lead 5.52 ± 7.81, cadmium 0.23 ± 0.33, and arsenic 0.15 ± 0.22 ppm. The SD exceeds the mean in every cell and the replicate count is not stated, so these values are recorded but are contested. The same sample carried the highest microbial count in the study, 1471.5 cfu/ml. Quality and safety investigation of commonly used topical cosmetic preparations

No other source in the corpus measures metals in a product sold as baby oil.

Limits that reach baby oils sold as cosmetics: Health Canada’s cosmetics guidance, lead 10, arsenic 3, cadmium 3, mercury 1, antimony 5 ppm Guidance on Heavy Metal Impurities in Cosmetics; the German BVL orientation values for cosmetics in general, lead 2.0, cadmium 0.1, mercury 0.1, arsenic 0.5, antimony 0.5 mg/kg Technically avoidable heavy metal contents in cosmetic products; and Washington’s prohibition of intentionally added lead or lead at or above 1 ppm Washington State Toxic-Free Cosmetics Act (HB 1047) — statutory cap on heavy metals in cosmetic products. In Canada, mineral oil at 50 to 100% is a non-prescription drug ingredient for diaper rash under the Diaper Rash Products Monograph, which places such oils under the drug regulations rather than the natural health product limits Diaper Rash Products Monograph.

Supporting evidence and scope

Pending: regenerated by tools/evidence/apply-product-broad-context.mjs once broad-scope Cat 2 sources route to this page.

Federal/Regulatory Limits vs Field Findings

Pending. Cat 2 regulatory landscape is fragmented: cosmetics under FDA FD&C Act adulteration provisions (no binding finished-product heavy-metal limits); sunscreens under FDA OTC drug monograph; toothpaste under FDA cosmetic + OTC drug regulation; state-level cosmetic heavy-metal laws (Washington TFCA 2025, New York TCCP). EU 1223/2009 Annex II/III addresses cosmetic ingredient restrictions but not finished-product action levels. Awaiting agency-page ingest.

Controls and mitigation

The Cat 2 Step 0 lock framework distinguishes clean-formulation rows from contaminated-platform rows. For this row, the levers below are ordered by impact magnitude based on the literature evidence base and per the Step 0 lock attribution of platform-level metal load. Brand-legal teams evaluating HMT&C certification eligibility for this row should treat the formulation/sourcing levers as the dominant compliance pathway.

  1. Sourcing levers on platform ingredients. Even without a clean alternative within the row, supplier-grade differences within the platform are material.
  2. Refining levers.
  3. Testing/QC levers: lot-level ICP-MS on raw materials and finished product.
  4. Regulatory levers.

How standards math uses this page

This page reports what the peer-reviewed and government literature says about heavy-metal concentrations in this product category; it publishes no certification thresholds of its own. Certification criteria are set separately under the Heavy Metal Tested & Certified program at heavymetalcertified.com, which reads this page as its literature baseline. The two are kept apart by design, so this page remains an independent record of the evidence rather than a justification for any threshold.

Historical recalls and enforcement

Cat 2 (children’s personal care) regulatory enforcement is fragmented: cosmetics fall under FDA FD&C Act adulteration provisions without binding finished-product heavy-metal action levels; sunscreens fall under FDA OTC drug monograph; toothpaste falls under FDA cosmetic + OTC drug regulation. State-level enforcement is more active: Washington State Toxic-Free Cosmetics Act 2025 sets heavy-metal limits for cosmetic products sold in Washington; New York Toxic Children’s Cosmetic Products Act sets limits for children’s makeup. California Prop 65 enforcement actions on cosmetics (lip balm, lipstick, eye products) have established practical compliance thresholds via settlement agreements. EU Cosmetic Regulation 1223/2009 Annex II/III addresses cosmetic-ingredient restrictions but not finished-product action levels. Individual brand recall actions are not enumerated here; the recalls are framed as regulatory events that establish the operative compliance landscape.

Methodology

This page reports what the cited sources say about heavy-metal concentrations in the Baby Oil row. Speciation is non-substitutable (iAs vs tAs, MeHg vs tHg, Cr-VI vs total Cr). Basis is preserved (finished-product as sold). Non-detect handling follows each source’s convention. Pooling avoided across LOD/LOQ, period, geography, and analytical-basis differences. HMT&C certification thresholds for products in this row are developed under the certification program at heavymetalcertified.com, not on this page; this public page reports literature evidence only.

The non-ingestion exposure pathways relevant to this row (dermal, inhalation, accidental-ingestion, and trans-placental) are documented at Cat 2 (Children Personal Care) non-ingestion exposure pathways.

References

Works cited in this page’s text, in first-appearance order. See Sources for this page’s source inventory. Each title links to a source record with bibliographic details, reported findings, and document provenance.

  1. Quality and safety investigation of commonly used topical cosmetic preparationsAlmukainzi M, Alotaibi L, Abdulwahab A, Albukhary N, and El Mahdy AM · Scientific Reports 12:18299 · 2022 · doi.org/10.1038/s41598-022-21771-7Peer-reviewed
  2. Guidance on Heavy Metal Impurities in CosmeticsHealth Canada · 2012 · www.hc-sc.gc.caGuidance
  3. Technically avoidable heavy metal contents in cosmetic productsGerman Federal Office of Consumer Protection and Food Safety · Journal of Consumer Protection and Food Safety · 2017 · doi.org/10.1007/s00003-016-1044-2Regulation
  4. Washington State Toxic-Free Cosmetics Act (HB 1047) — statutory cap on heavy metals in cosmetic productsWashington State Legislature · Washington State Session Laws, Chapter 455, Laws of 2023 (2023 c 455), codified as Chapter 70A.560 RCW · 2023 · app.leg.wa.govRegulation
  5. Diaper Rash Products MonographHealth Canada, Natural and Non-prescription Health Products Directorate · Health Products and Food Branch monograph dated 2024-02-23, replacing the Diaper Rash Products Monograph of 7 December 2018 · 2024 · webprod.hc-sc.gc.caRegulation

Sources

Source records associated with this topic. Inclusion does not establish that every finding applies to this product or ingredient. References above identify works cited in the text.

#CitationYearTypeUsed on this page for
1Washington State Department of 2024. Policy Statement: Interim Policy on Lead in Cosmetics — enforcement discretion under the Washington Toxic-Free Cosmetics Act (Chapter 70A.560 RCW), Washington State Department of Ecology, Publication 24-04-036 (issued December 19, 2024; minor revisions and clarifications January 15, 2025)2024Government reportUS-WA Pb occurrence in Regulatory enforcement-discretion policy issued by the Washington State Department of Ecology under authority of the Toxic-Free Cosmetics Act…
2Committee of Ministers of 2023. Safe cosmetics for young children: a guide for manufacturers and safety assessors (2nd edition). Council of Europe Resolution CM/ResAP (2012) 1 on safety criteria for cosmetic products intended for infants., European Directorate for the Quality of Medicines & HealthCare (EDQM), Council of Europe, Strasbourg, France. 2nd edition. ISBN 978-92-871-9360-5. 56 pages.2023Government guidanceEU Pb, tHg occurrence in Not applicable. This is a Council of Europe Committee of Ministers Resolution (CM/ResAP (2012) 1) supplemented by the…
3Almukainzi et al. 2022. Quality and safety investigation of commonly used topical cosmetic preparations, Scientific Reports 12:182992022Peer-reviewedSA/US/EU Pb, Cd, tAs, Al, Cr, Cu, Ni, Fe, Zn, Mn, Co occurrence in Twenty-one topical cosmetic products purchased from local markets and drug stores in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia. Product selection was… (n=21)
4Oranges et al. 2015. Skin Physiology of the Neonate and Infant: Clinical Implications, Advances in Wound Care 4(10): 587-5952015Peer-reviewedThis Advances in Wound Care “Critical Reviews” article (Oranges, Dini, Romanelli at the Wound Healing Research Unit, Department of Dermatology,…
5Canada 2012. Guidance on Heavy Metal Impurities in Cosmetics, Health Canada Consumer Product Safety guidance2012Government guidanceCA/DE/US Pb, tAs, Cd, tHg, Sb occurrence in Health Canada cosmetic-impurity guidance based on toxicology review, comparison with other program limits, German technical-avoidability limits, and Health…
6Stone 2012. Quality Assurance Project Plan: Parabens and Metals in Children’s Cosmetic and Personal Care Products, Washington State Department of Ecology, Hazardous Waste and Toxics Reduction Program, Publication 12-07-021 (February 2012)2012RegulatoryUS-WA/US Sb, tAs, Cd, Co, Cu, Pb, tHg, Mo, Zn occurrence in Planning document only; no samples analysed within this QAPP. The QAPP scopes a planned procurement of approximately 200…
7U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 2011. Exposure Factors Handbook: 2011 Edition — Chapter 17, Consumer Products, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, EPA/600/R-09/052F2011Government reportChapter 17 of the U.S. EPA’s 2011 Exposure Factors Handbook (EFH) compiles consumer-product use and exposure data — frequency of…

Update history

No substantive edit history is available in this build. The full commit record is available in git.