Skip to content
Heavy Metal Index

Assessment of toxic trace metal contamination in food spices sold in Nigerian markets

This study measured total arsenic (As), cadmium (Cd), and lead (Pb) in seven spice/herb samples: six coded commercial spice samples A–F purchased from New Heaven market in Enugu, Nigeria, plus one scent leaf sample collected from a nearby garden at Ugwuaji.

Overview

This study measured total arsenic (As), cadmium (Cd), and lead (Pb) in seven spice/herb samples: six coded commercial spice samples A–F purchased from New Heaven market in Enugu, Nigeria, plus one scent leaf sample collected from a nearby garden at Ugwuaji. The most alarming finding is cadmium: all seven samples exceeded the FAO/WHO permissible limit of 0.02 µg/g by a substantial margin, with values ranging from 2.58 to 6.45 µg/g — between 129 and 322 times the limit. Arsenic exceeded the upper end of the source’s 0.1–0.5 µg/g permissible range in two samples (C: 1.68, E: 1.26 µg/g); Sample D (0.315 µg/g) exceeded the lower end but not the 0.5 µg/g upper threshold. Lead exceeded the 2.0 µg/g threshold in two samples (A: 2.16, B: 2.19 µg/g). The authors discuss possible contamination pathways including improper drying practices, polluted irrigation sources, atmospheric deposition, and poor post-harvest handling.

Key numbers

Concentrations in µg/g (= mg/kg), n = 7 total samples:

SampleAs (µg/g)Cd (µg/g)Pb (µg/g)
A0.1656.452.16
B0.3004.712.19
C1.6803.6751.71
D0.3152.8351.305
E1.2602.8351.26
F0.0753.211.53
Scent leaf0.1802.581.71
Permissible limit0.1–0.50.022.00

All Cd values exceed the permissible limit by 129–322x. Samples C and E exceed the upper end of the source’s As permissible range; Sample D is above the lower bound but below 0.5 µg/g. Samples A and B exceed the Pb threshold. Method: Agilent FS240AA AAS, APHA 1998, aqua regia acid digestion. No LOD/LOQ values explicitly reported for the samples; no speciation of As (total As reported, not iAs/organic split).

Methods (brief)

Samples were labelled A–F (product identities not disclosed) plus one scent leaf grown locally and washed. Digestion used aqua regia (HNO3 + HClO4 + H2SO4 mixture) heated at 60°C to clear digest. Analysis by AAS with calibration curves from single-element stock solutions. Study limitations: very small n (7), single market, no certified reference material reported, no LOD/LOQ stated, specific spice identity not disclosed for A–F, and As is reported as total As without iAs/organic speciation.

Implications

Certification: The cadmium results in this study are extraordinary — 129–322x over FAO/WHO limits — and should be treated as evidence of a severely contaminated informal-market supply chain rather than a representative distribution for certified supply chains. The study contributes occurrence context for spice Cd, Pb, and total-As screening, but these values should not anchor threshold math.

Courses: Excellent case study for contamination-pathway modules: improper or roadside drying as a possible pathway, atmospheric deposition, and informal market monitoring failure. Pair with better-controlled A-tier spice studies for a balanced picture.

App: Contributes a high-contamination informal-market scenario for spices as a Cd- and total-As-relevant ingredient category. The extremely high values here are likely outliers from local market conditions rather than typical commercial-grade supply.

Verification notes

  • 2026-05-18 Codex merge-enhance against the source PDF in condiment_papers: corrected the truncated raw_path, broadened product routing to include [[products/condiments-general]], and generalized “brands” wording to coded samples because the source does not disclose product identities.
  • Numerical fidelity correction: the prior page repeated the source abstract/discussion phrasing that three samples exceeded a 0.5 µg/g As limit, but Table 1 shows only Sample C (1.68 µg/g) and Sample E (1.26 µg/g) exceed 0.5 µg/g; Sample D is 0.315 µg/g and only exceeds the lower end of the source’s 0.1–0.5 µg/g permissible range. Lead exceedances remain Samples A and B; Cd exceedance remains all seven samples.
  • Part 2 firewall: softened the HMT&C monitoring/testing sentence to source-level occurrence context and explicitly kept the values out of threshold math.
  • Cross-vendor audit (Codex, 2026-05-18) corrected the sample-population description: the six coded spice samples were purchased from New Heaven market, while the scent leaf was collected from a nearby garden at Ugwuaji. Pathway language is treated as author-discussed possibilities, not confirmed source attribution for each sample.

Update history

No substantive edit history is available in this build. The full commit record is available in git.